Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    102

    Default What is vdsbackup?

    I am trying to make a local backup of my website. The vdsbackup folder seems to have been added by Westhost. It contains files with the same name but different case. This works fine on Unix but not on Windows. It's jamming my backup. What happens if I delete it?

  2. #2
    Moderator wildjokerdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Kansas City Mo
    Posts
    5,720

    Default

    Well there should be more then just that in that directory. It should have the files used to back up your site via the SiteManager I think. How are you backing up your site? I don't think it would be a good idea to delete it. It is owned by Root although the group is set to you so it should be possible to remove it I think but the fact that it is owned by Root means it is a file the is used by the system and removeing it may cause you some headaches. Have you asked WH tech?
    Shawn
    Please remember your charity of choice: http://www.redcross.org

    Handy Links: wildjokerdesign.net | Plain Text Editors: EditPlus | Crimson

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    102

    Default

    Thanks for your reply.

    No, I haven't checked with WH yet. I thought I'd try here first.

    I'm not sure what you mean by

    > there should be more then just that in that directory.

    I just gave the directory name, not a list of contents. The problem is files in it that have the same filename with different case.

  4. #4
    Moderator wildjokerdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Kansas City Mo
    Posts
    5,720

    Default

    Ahh now I think I see what you mean about same names in upper and lower.... the image files.... is that what you mean? The files in the vdsbackup direcotory are simply used for the back up utility that WestHost provides for you to use via the SiteManager. I don't use it I simply go in via SSH and zip up what ever I want and download it. If you are like me or use some other method of backing up your site then I would seen no reason you would need those files. The only thing is that it is always possible that they would be restored by WH or that some other part of the whole set up would need to be able to see that they where there.

    I would ask West Host.
    Shawn
    Please remember your charity of choice: http://www.redcross.org

    Handy Links: wildjokerdesign.net | Plain Text Editors: EditPlus | Crimson

  5. #5
    Moderator wildjokerdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Kansas City Mo
    Posts
    5,720

    Default

    I have included the directory when I have done full zips of my /var/www/html direcotry and never had it cause a problem. Where do you hit the snag? Does it happen when you try to unzip the backup on your local machine? If that is the case then you should be able to exclude those duplicates via your unzip program on your local machine.
    Shawn
    Please remember your charity of choice: http://www.redcross.org

    Handy Links: wildjokerdesign.net | Plain Text Editors: EditPlus | Crimson

  6. #6
    Moderator wildjokerdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Kansas City Mo
    Posts
    5,720

    Default

    I just did a test backup useing the WestHost provided VDS back up and the only file it actully backed up in the vdsbackup directory was the .htacess file
    Shawn
    Please remember your charity of choice: http://www.redcross.org

    Handy Links: wildjokerdesign.net | Plain Text Editors: EditPlus | Crimson

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    102

    Default

    Sorry to just now be replying. I am not getting email notices of replies. Seems like that used to happen automatically.

    I am trying to backup by having FrontPage "publish" the live web to a directory on my local drive.

  8. #8
    Moderator wildjokerdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Kansas City Mo
    Posts
    5,720

    Default

    If you can not somehow exclude it when you are doing your back up then I guess you could try to re-name the files that are causeing the problem. Like I mentioned that directory is the "program" that the SiteManager uses to back up your site.
    Shawn
    Please remember your charity of choice: http://www.redcross.org

    Handy Links: wildjokerdesign.net | Plain Text Editors: EditPlus | Crimson

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    102

    Default

    WH fixed that problem. Now FrontPage is gagging on a file in my main directory named "manager.html." This zero byte file cannot be downloaded even using my FTP utility.

  10. #10
    Moderator wildjokerdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Kansas City Mo
    Posts
    5,720

    Default

    Well I was going to tell you to delete it but I just checked and it seems to be owned by root. That may be something new. I was sure I had removed it from accounts in the past. I guess this one is going to take WH intervention also.
    Shawn
    Please remember your charity of choice: http://www.redcross.org

    Handy Links: wildjokerdesign.net | Plain Text Editors: EditPlus | Crimson

Similar Threads

  1. Tip - Opening a VDSBACKUP file
    By j103c in forum Account Maintenance
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-07-2005, 08:29 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •