Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default need an example of simple perl script + html

i can't get a simple 'hello' world script to work. i've done the following:
    1) placed the script in the cgi-bin
    2) script's name is hello.pl
    3) its mode is 755
    4) script contents bellow
    5) i've tried running it by going to it directly (www.mydomain.com/cgi-bin/hello.pl) and got a 500 error.
    6) i've tried to use SSI but no include was created.
    7) i've tried changing the script's extention to cgi.

the "hello.pl" script:
    #!/bin/perl
    print "&lt;HTML><BODY>Perl CGI Hello World!</BODY>&lt;/HTML>";

as you can probably understand, i have no experience with cgi scripts - only with perl and html.

any pointer to what i'm doing wrong, or any example that anyone can show me will be very much appreciated!

thanks,
    uri.

I've run into this problem a couple of times myself. The fix is annoyingly simple:

Code:
    #!/bin/perl
    print "Content-type&#58; text/html\n\n";
    print "&lt;HTML>Hello from Perl&lt;/HTML>";
    All you need to add is line number 2, which is stating (to either the server or the browser, I'm not sure) that the output you are generating (i.e. your next print statement) is HTML and should be interpreted as such.

Good luck with the Perl coding! Personally, I prefer PHP - it is so much easier, and much more forgiving. Plus, 99% of the time, it generates an error that actually tells you exactly where you have gone wrong, instead of just spitting out an unfriendly error 500.
    Fayez Zaheer

Well there is what Fayez mentioned and you have the path to perl set wrong if you are woking on a WestHost account.
    /usr/bin/perl
    Shawn
    Please remember your charity of choice: http://www.redcross.org

Handy Links: wildjokerdesign.net | Plain Text Editors: EditPlus | Crimson

/bin/perl works too

Both /bin/perl and /usr/bin/perl are actually symlinks to /usr/local/perl/bin/perl...