Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    23

    Default PHP.INI File - Changes dont take effect

    I could not upload files over 2M so I found my php.ini file in the ftp\usr\lib directory and modified it. (incidently phpinfo() showed me the location of the php.ini file) My modifications were as follows:

    ; Maximum allowed size for uploaded files.
    upload_max_filesize = 7M

    I then did a phpInfo() and it still showed 2M

    I tried modifying it from my script using the following code:

    ini_set("upload_max_filesize","7M");
    echo ini_get("upload_max_filesize");

    It still showed 2M!!!

    Documentation out on the web says you have to reboot apache for ini changes to take effect. Since we are hosted, how does this work. What am I missing?

  2. #2
    Moderator wildjokerdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Kansas City Mo
    Posts
    5,720

    Default Restart VPS via Site Manager

    You can restart you VPS which should do the same thing through your Site Mangager. I think it is under Site Management if I remember correctly.

    There is also mention of changeing the php.ini in this thread on the second page http://forums.westhost.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=1484
    Shawn
    Please remember your charity of choice: http://www.redcross.org

    Handy Links: wildjokerdesign.net | Plain Text Editors: EditPlus | Crimson

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    23

    Default Issue solved - Thanks WH support and WildJoker

    Support told me how to restart the server (I must say I was impressed with how quickly Chris got back to me)

    Everything is working great now, programming is fun again!

    Mark Dueri

  4. #4
    Senior Member jalal's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,377

    Default

    You can also restart Apache thru SSH.

    Type:
    $ /etc/rc.d/rc stop
    $ /etc/rc.d/rc start

    or
    $ /etc/rc.d/init.d/httpd restart

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    248

    Default

    But I thought you could just type the word restart & it did the same thing. Do we did to type out those long path names too Jalal ?

  6. #6
    Senior Member jalal's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,377

    Default

    'restart' is an alias in the .bashrc file, which expands to the two commands above.
    Recent sites seem to have that alias, older sites don't have it..
    There seems to be some variation in how the sites are setup depending on what month they were created, the phase of the moon and whether Man Utd are playing at home.

    8))

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    248

    Default

    No Man Utd pls, :wink: - I think for my case since Real Madrid bought Beckham , restart will do 8)

  8. #8
    Senior Member torrin's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Vista, CA
    Posts
    534

    Default

    For those people (like me) that are like, huh?

    Man UTD's official website is below.

    http://www.manutd.com/home/default.sps

    For those that can read Spanish (I can't, so I have no idea if this is what you're refering to).

    http://www.realmadrid.com/

    and last, here are some Beckham websites.

    http://directory.google.com/Top/Spor...,_David/?tc=1p

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    248

    Default

    But Torrin - Real Madrid has an English interface - it's right at the top,
    http://www.realmadrid.com/web_realma...idiomacambio=2

    I also got the impression that they only do Spanish but when I look closer - english was there, they also have japanese

Similar Threads

  1. HowTo Tutorial: Using and Installing SSH
    By sunzon in forum E-mail / FTP Management
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-10-2008, 07:07 AM
  2. Miva 4 to Miva 5 upgrade problems Did this happen to you?
    By brady9111 in forum Miva Merchant
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-25-2007, 10:11 AM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-15-2007, 08:32 PM
  4. Where's the php.ini file?
    By devospice in forum PHP / MySQL
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-20-2007, 05:42 AM
  5. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-06-2005, 10:53 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •