Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: MYD's & frm's ?

Default MYD's & frm's ?

Hi I'm new to databases, I can get my program working locally on apache/mysql.
    But when I upload to the WH server into a subfolder I cant - I get cant connect to database.
    I've installed mysql. I've checked the codes I dont know if the "localhost" connection is the problem - I've checked the filename connection is right.

Pls advise.

Was this request to do with the card script that you got going?

I have phpMyAdmin installed on my sites that use mysql databases so I can check the existance of a database. I have run across a couple scripts that you have to create the database yourself since they do not do it and phpMyAdmin makes it really easy.
    Shawn
    Please remember your charity of choice: http://www.redcross.org

Handy Links: wildjokerdesign.net | Plain Text Editors: EditPlus | Crimson

Nope Shawn it;s not related, just wondering why it wouldnt work on the server,when it worked on my localhost.

Hi guys I would like to know where to place my database folder.

Locally there's a folder in mysql/data/ - where all your databas folders are placed - so that the php pages can connect to it.

I cant find the folder. - Pls help

Firebirdfan.

I'm not sure if I understood what you are doing (your original question made no sense to me) but now I think that that you are trying to upload the mysql datafiles from your local computer onto your Westhost server (that is, the "myd,myi,frm" files from /var/lib/mysql/).
    Is that right?

It won't work. MySQL doesn't work like that.

Yes, I've uploaded those data files into the same folder of those PHP files that calls out from the data files.

Locally on my desktop with Apache mysql & php installed I can get it working , as I place the data files into the mysql bin folder.

So now on the server I can't find the mysql bin.. therefore my php files cant access the database & hence the error - can pls advise where do i place the data files ?