Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    9

    Default ImageMagick and open_basedir restriction

    I've installed Gallery3 and am running into an error when trying to use ImageMagick. Here's what I get on the Graphics page:

    "ImageMagick is installed, but PHP's open_basedir restriction prevents Gallery from using it."

    Could someone let me know what PHP settings I need to adjust in order to use ImageMagick. I'm guessing I need to edit the php.ini file but I'm not sure what to add to it.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Moderator wildjokerdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Kansas City Mo
    Posts
    5,720

    Default

    This is an easy one. Simply look for open_basedir in the php.ini and change the value to what you need. You did not really say where you installed Gallery 3 but if you have it installed in /var/www/html which is the default public root on a Site Manager account then you would use this:
    Code:
    open_basedir = '/'var/www/html'
    The above assumes that you are on an older Site Manager account. If by chance this is a new cPanel account then you would need to first follow the instructions seen here: http://wildjokerdesign.net/faq/where...ini-file-wh-40 to create a custom php.ini file for your account. I would need to know more about where you installed the Gallery 3 program in your cPanel account to really give you an example.
    Shawn
    Please remember your charity of choice: http://www.redcross.org

    Handy Links: wildjokerdesign.net | Plain Text Editors: EditPlus | Crimson

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    9

    Question

    Thanks for the tip. I'm actually on the new account setting. I should've mentioned that I already tried that. Here's the specific setting I tried:

    Code:
    open_basedir = '/home/myacountname/public_html'
    No luck. I get a message saying that ImageMagick cannot be found. Since the Gallery3 installation is further in, I've also tried:

    Code:
    open_basedir = '/home/myacountname/public_html/family'
    ...and...

    Code:
    open_basedir = '/home/myacountname/public_html/family/gallery3'
    ...all resulting still with ImageMagick not being found. When I comment the line out, the original message about open_basedir returns. Still not sure what to do.

  4. #4
    Moderator wildjokerdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Kansas City Mo
    Posts
    5,720

    Default

    Have you contacted WestHost about this yet? With new cPanel accounts you should be able to use ImageMagick without any modifications. What may be the issue from the start is the path to ImageMagick that is set in Gallery 3. Off the top of my head I can't remember what the path is in a cPanel account but WH techs could tell you or I can do some digging and find it for you.

    If by chance you installed Gallery 3 through cPanel instead of manually then you do need to contact WestHost and let them know that the install did not work.

    I have to travel home today but I'll try to find time later to do some more digging on my own in case WH does not come up with anything. Digging really just means I install it on one of my test domain accounts and see if I can break it so I can give a detailed fix.
    Shawn
    Please remember your charity of choice: http://www.redcross.org

    Handy Links: wildjokerdesign.net | Plain Text Editors: EditPlus | Crimson

  5. #5
    Moderator wildjokerdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Kansas City Mo
    Posts
    5,720

    Default

    Here also is a relevant post over at Gallery site. http://gallery.menalto.com/node/93328 It is a bit old and was when Gallery 3 was in development but it has some info that may be useful. For example it explains how you can actually set the path in the admin area and how you can find that path via command line.
    Shawn
    Please remember your charity of choice: http://www.redcross.org

    Handy Links: wildjokerdesign.net | Plain Text Editors: EditPlus | Crimson

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    9

    Default

    The response I received from Westhost was that the technician wasn't familiar with open_basedir, but he confirmed that it was something I could set myself in the php.ini file copy I had in my account.

    As for the Gallery3 forum, I went there first, looking for solutions. Unfortunately, the information on the post you referenced didn't help. I think I need Westhost-specific information.

    I installed the Gallery3 myself instead of through Softaculous. If I can't get this fixed, I may just set it up through Softaculous then.

    In the meantime, any more suggestions on how to fix this problem would be greatly appreciated.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Unfortunately the Softaculous (Westhost) install gives me the same errors.

  8. #8
    Moderator wildjokerdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Kansas City Mo
    Posts
    5,720

    Default

    Yes I see that. Just gave it a try myself. I also got and chat and the tech Jon said that ImageMagick is not available on accounts.

    That being said the packages do list "ImageMagick 5+ Support" So there has to be some way to get this going. I am also pretty sure that when the change from the old system to the new was in process that it had been stated that ImageMagick would be part of the new system.

    From: http://forums.westhost.com/showthrea...ost-cPanel-FAQ
    Q: Is ImageMagick and GD going to be available on the servers?
    A: Yes it will.
    Chatted with Jon again and he suggest that you submit a support ticket so the admins can install it for you. Make sure to include as much info as you can in the ticket. Even a link to this thread would help them to see the progression of things. Do mention that the issue seems to need the assistance of a system admin.

    The bottom line is this is not something you should have to create a workaround for. It should just be there.

    I may tweak some ears at WestHost my self on this issue. I thought for sure I had used ImageMagick on a cPanel account already but I guess not. It gets a bit confusing trying to go back and forth between cPanel and Site Manger accounts.
    Shawn
    Please remember your charity of choice: http://www.redcross.org

    Handy Links: wildjokerdesign.net | Plain Text Editors: EditPlus | Crimson

  9. #9
    Moderator wildjokerdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Kansas City Mo
    Posts
    5,720

    Default

    Ok a bit more information. ImageMagick does appear to be installed on our accounts since it shows up in a call to phpinfo(). Also running which convert in a putty sessions shows the path as /usr/bin. I tried using advanced setting in the admin area to set the graphics_toolkit and the graphics_toolkit_path to no avail. Even tried setting extra_binary_paths up with /usr/bin but no luck there.
    Shawn
    Please remember your charity of choice: http://www.redcross.org

    Handy Links: wildjokerdesign.net | Plain Text Editors: EditPlus | Crimson

  10. #10
    Moderator wildjokerdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Kansas City Mo
    Posts
    5,720

    Default

    You know what after sleeping on this one it occurred to me that it may not really be a WestHost issue. Since a call to phpinfo shows that ImageMagick is installed and the files are there, it may be that the method that Gallery 3 is using to detect it is the issue. Since I am pretty good with PHP let me dig into the code and see if maybe I can determine what might be keeping Gallery 3 from finding ImageMagick. In fact it could be that while the Graphics page can not detect it, that if we set the Advanced Settings up with imagemagick and the correct path that it would actually use it in the rest of the program.
    Shawn
    Please remember your charity of choice: http://www.redcross.org

    Handy Links: wildjokerdesign.net | Plain Text Editors: EditPlus | Crimson

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •