Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Help setting up ZenCart-OpenCart

Is anyone out there willing to help out a complete novice?

I have 2 websites on WestHost, very simple sites. www.spikescbradios.com and www.bertrands.us (personal site, gets neglected). The one for Spikes, we are ready to go online and start selling. I have never done this before and really know nothing about it.

I can do it through the WH web creator templates, which is fine, they just don't offer a lot of flexibility. From a little research I am reading that ZenCart and OpenCart are pretty user friendly, more so the OpenCart.

My WH plan is already set to go with the ecommerce options. I assume I would download either one of them through Softaculous. When I go to do that, it asks stuff on the software setup that I have no clue what to put.

Is this something that will be WAY over my head? Does anyone think its easy enough I could be shown/taught how without screwing up my whole site?

Currently I use DreamWeaver, but I also read these 2 carts are template based and that's probably what I'll be using. Right?

Any help from a very patient person would be greatly appreciated.

Well I like to think that I am a patient person so let's see if I can help. I've worked a bit with ZenCart but not much with OpenCart. I am sure they are similar in many ways.

I would suggest that you first start by visiting the actual sites for each program. Check out their documentation to see which one makes the most sense to you. I think both have pretty good communities and forums and I would peruse those also to get a sense of the community support. Always best to go straight to these resources when you have questions about the program.

You are right that you are going to be using the templates for the programs. Make sure to check if the available templates via their sites and see if one is close to what you want to use for your site. Peruse the documentation for customizing the templates to fit your needs.