First let me start off by mentioning I am no Ruby expert. I have installed quite a few custom applications on my WestHost account, so if the below instructions do not work for you, post a reply with the error that you received so we can see if you are missing something I may have previously installed.

First off make sure the GCC is installed through your Site Manager by going to "Install and Manage" under Site Applications. The GCC is located under the development section.

After the GCC is compiled, visit

http://www.ruby-lang.org/en/downloads/

That should take you to the Ruby download page. From here you can select which one you'd like to download. For this tutorial (if you could call it that) I will be using the latest tar.gz version.

I simply copied the location of the link which in this case was,

ftp://ftp.ruby-lang.org//pub/ruby/ru...-stable.tar.gz

After you have this you are ready to SSH into your account utilizing your favorite terminal application.

Once SSH'd in, I ran the following commands,

Code:
wget ftp://ftp.ruby-lang.org//pub/ruby/ruby-1.9-stable.tar.gz
This should download the .tar.gz file to wherever you currently are in your VPS. Your current location should not matter for the rest of the installation.

Once you have the tar.gz file, we need to unpack it with the following command,

Code:
tar xvzf ruby-1.9-stable.tar.gz
This should create a folder wherever you are named ruby-1.9* as it is the -stable release it will name it whatever the current/latest version is, in my case it was 1.91-p243, note this may be different depending on how long it has been since this was written.

Now lets navigate into the folder with,

Code:
cd ruby-1.9.1-p243/