Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1

    Default installing LAME MP3 Encoder

    LameMP3 is a nice library that allows you to create mp3s pretty easily. Here is how to install it.

    First, we need ncurses, lets get it and build it and install it.
    Code:
    wget ftp://invisible-island.net/ncurses/ncurses.tar.gz
    tar -zxvf ncurses.tar.gz
    cd ncurses-*
    ./configure --prefix=/usr/local/ncurses
    make && make install
    cd ..
    Now we need to add the ncurses library. Edit the file located at /etc/ld.so.conf and add this line to the bottom:
    Code:
    /usr/local/ncurses/lib
    Once you have done that, run
    Code:
    ldconfig
    and ignore any warnings you get.

    now that it is done, lets get moving onto getting lamemp3.
    Go to http://sourceforge.net/project/showf...package_id=309 and download the latest version of lamemp3, then lets extract and build it.
    Code:
    tar -zxvf lame-*
    cd lame-*
    export CPPFLAGS="-I/usr/local/ncurses/include"
    ./configure --prefix=/usr/local/lame
    make && make install
    Now lets edit /etc/ld.so.conf once again and add this line to the bottom:
    Code:
    /usr/local/lame/lib
    and run
    Code:
    ldconfig
    And you are done, a fully installed lameMP3.
    You can integrate it into ffmpeg by following directions here: http://forums.westhost.com/showthread.php?t=11558
    Want me to do a tutorial on how to install something? PM me!
    Got any questions? reply below.
    Unofficial technical support for the world.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Carlsbad, Ca
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Hi. The first step does not seem to work. I keep getting a configuration error. I've tried manually loading the ncurses files but then the ldconfig doesn't work.

    Any suggestions?

  3. #3

    Default

    You must not have the GNU Complier collection installed form Site Manager, if it is installed, try re installing it.
    Unofficial technical support for the world.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Carlsbad, Ca
    Posts
    2

    Default Got that

    Yeah, I got that. Now, why when I run ldconfig do I get a message like:

    "can't link /usr/lib/libcom.err.so2 to libcom.err.so" and so forth?

  5. #5
    Moderator wildjokerdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Kansas City Mo
    Posts
    5,721

    Default

    Not sure why that error happens when ldconfig is run but it is "normal". It could be an ownership/permissions issue. The symbolic link does exist. The symbolic link is a different Owner - Group then the actual file.
    Shawn
    Please remember your charity of choice: http://www.redcross.org

    Handy Links: wildjokerdesign.net | Plain Text Editors: EditPlus | Crimson

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    40

    Default Thanks!

    This was sooooo helpful. Thanks, dattas!

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Do these instructions work for a WH 3.0 or 4.0 account? I've been trying what's show but the make command errors out. I'm assuming that I don't have the proper permissions. Is there a precompiled version floating out there?

  8. #8
    Moderator wildjokerdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Kansas City Mo
    Posts
    5,721

    Default

    These instructions would be for WH 3.0 and you would have to install GNU Tools via the Site Manager for them to work.
    Shawn
    Please remember your charity of choice: http://www.redcross.org

    Handy Links: wildjokerdesign.net | Plain Text Editors: EditPlus | Crimson

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •