Default How to put Joomla in other than joomla directory?

I am pretty new with Joomla, but have managed to build three or four websites in different directories. Each have a URL that includes /joomla/index.php and that is visible in the web browser address bar.

I've searched the forums and seen one or two other people that want to move their joomla files, but I'm new enough to not fully understand what needs to be done... help please...

I have redirects from the site's main directories to the /Joomla/index.php file, but when that opens, the whole domain and /joomla/index.php is visible.

What can I do to make the url in the address bar not include the /joomla/ directory? I'd like the site visitors to see http://sitename.com/index.php
    and not http://site.name.com/joomla/index.php

Can I move all the joomla files from the /joomla/ folder to the folder 'one up' on the directory tree?

If so, what other changes will be required to make the whole thing work after the files are moved?

Thanks!

Whatnots

Yes, move everything (retaining the subdirectory formats as they exist under your joomla folder) to your root and change the following lines in configuration.php (as necessary):
    Code:
    $mosConfig_absolute_path =
    $mosConfig_cachepath =
    $mosConfig_live_site =
    That's all there is to it!
    Richard

I have jotted down some of my meddlings at http://www.rollingr.net/wordpress
    Click here for a full list of formatting codes for this forum

Default Which config.php

Thank you for the reply. I'm pretty new with the .php stuff. There are two .php files in the main directory. one that is configuration.php and another that is something like configuration-dist.php I opened both in notepad and the found config statements similar to the ones mentioned, but they are in an area that appears to be refering to 'multisites'. Am I looking in the right directory, or location?

i have moved them and its pretty simple