Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    5

    Default adding a domain problem

    Hi to all,
    i don't know if this is the right place for this question, but here goes:
    i want to know if there is a way to add a doiman to my account (vps account) by using the SSH and if so how?

    i am a php programmer and want to develop an application that generates websites automaticaly, but i don't want to go to the manager and add the domain manually, create a folder and point the new domain to this folder .. i need something that works faster like if it would work through SSH i would execute the commands from the php code. Of course the new domain has its DNS pointed to WH.

    Any help would be greatly apreciated.

  2. #2
    Senior Member rolling's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Different day, different place
    Posts
    486

    Default

    If your DNS is hosted with Westhost, then you have to use the Site Manager as we cannot edit our DNS records in /var/named/db.example.com ourselves (it is owned by root).

    If you use something like EasyDNS, then you might just be able to edit the files programatically if you EasyDNS let you do it.
    Richard

    I have jotted down some of my meddlings at http://www.rollingr.net/wordpress
    Click here for a full list of formatting codes for this forum

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Thank you rolling for your reply. Can you please give more details about this EasyDNS coz i'm kind of a newbie with servers things.

    Thank you again.

  4. #4
    Senior Member rolling's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Different day, different place
    Posts
    486

    Default

    You'll have to do your own research. Just put DNS Hosting into your favourite search engine and then contact the providers to see if they give you access to your DNS records by SSH / FTP. Then check their reputation in the newsgroups

    For example, you could keep your Master DNS record on your Westhost account and then upload your file to your DNS Host by SFTP or FTP. I recommend adding a secondary DNS service such as twisted4life.com

    http://www.easydns.com/ is just one DNS provider
    Last edited by rolling; 08-18-2007 at 03:53 AM.
    Richard

    I have jotted down some of my meddlings at http://www.rollingr.net/wordpress
    Click here for a full list of formatting codes for this forum

Similar Threads

  1. adding a domain to a different directory
    By persimmons in forum Account Maintenance
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-23-2010, 03:58 PM
  2. Adding a domain
    By web1x in forum Domain names & DNS
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-08-2004, 01:39 AM
  3. Adding additional Domain Names
    By REC-WH in forum Domain names & DNS
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-05-2003, 04:41 AM
  4. Adding Additonal Domain Names Manually
    By REC-WH in forum Domain names & DNS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-25-2003, 10:26 PM
  5. Adding a New Domain
    By bristolpublishing in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-19-2003, 03:45 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •