PDA

View Full Version : dedicated ip



winrate
01-06-2007, 08:09 AM
Hello.
I have Business Starter Plan.
On this page: http://westhost.com/starter-business-hosting.html
i can see that dedicated ip is included as an option.

On this page: http://www.westhost.com/dedicated-ip-hosting.html
i can understand that it is passible to have adittional ip address, and access the site either by its domain name or by it's dedicated IP .

The question is if it is passible to have both at the same time?

Thanks to all.

corvus
01-06-2007, 11:42 PM
Hello.

The question is if it is passible to have both at the same time?

Thanks to all.

Winrate,

If you have a dedicated IP address(which I have and recommend) then you can have multiple websites on it(within the limits of the plan). It sounds like you read it as you might be giving up the ability to have multiple websites if you have the dedicated IP address. This isn't the case. You gain a lot by having the dedicated IP address.

wildjokerdesign
01-07-2007, 07:21 AM
With a normal account from WestHost you well only have one dedicated IP and it well be tied to your may domain name. Any additional domains you add to that main domain account well have to be accessed via their domain name. I don't think that WH has a system in place where you can buy additional dedicated IP's for your added domains but you might want to send them a quick email to see.

Barbara Moore
02-12-2007, 06:06 PM
Hello.
I have Business Starter Plan.
On this page: http://westhost.com/starter-business-hosting.html
i can see that dedicated ip is included as an option.

On this page: http://www.westhost.com/dedicated-ip-hosting.html
i can understand that it is passible to have adittional ip address, and access the site either by its domain name or by it's dedicated IP .

The question is if it is passible to have both at the same time?

Thanks to all.
Having your site answering to both IP address and domain name is one of the worst things you can do to your site if you want to be found in the search engines. Google is particular will index you on the IP address and put the domain URLs into the supplemental results.
Yahoo also has been known to put the content to a wrong domain name when there have been DNS errors - parked domains where someone has mistyped the parked IP address.

You solve this problem by setting up a default hosting on the IP address which just goes to a holding page (which can link to sites hosted on the VS if you like) What you will find is that all the hacking attempts get made on this default hosting. In httpd.conf you create the first VirtualHost so that it points to the default hosting and this moves your domain to the second VirtualHost position. Net effect, your content will only be found on the domain name.