PDA

View Full Version : client limits



quickquestion
01-03-2007, 04:21 PM
Is there an easy way to know if my website is ever down because too many users are hitting it? Or a way to find this information out that doesn't require me to keep on checking my website.

Thanks :)

wildjokerdesign
01-03-2007, 08:57 PM
That would have to be an awful lot of folks hitting your site! You must have something really good. :)

If for some reason your site is useing too many resources West Host well contact don't worry.

If by chance you are getting close to your bandwidth then there is a system that alerts you. I think it is active by default but if you want to double check log in to Site Manager and go to Site Mangagement > Site Parameter. You well see the utility there. It is called Quota Alerts. If you see "Disable Quota Alerts" on the button then the service is active and you should recieve notices. Relevant Manual Entry (http://www.helpdocs.westserver.net/sitemanager/SM_Site_Parameters.htm)

WestHost - DWinans
04-22-2007, 05:42 AM
Quickquestion,

The only time you're site would be truely down because to many people are visiting it is if you're bandwidth is exceeded. If you're MaxClients connection limit is hit, you're site isn't truely "down" But it seems like it. Apache will hang until a connection is freed and then server up you're request. If that limit is ever hit there should be a line in the /var/log/httpd/error_log stating that it was hit. The Easiest way to find that out is through SSH with the command.

grep MaxClients /var/log/httpd/error_log

Sincerely,

David Winans
Technical Support
WestHost Inc.

When you expect more from your web host
http://www.westhost.com/

scubajoe
05-02-2007, 12:48 PM
I'm having a problem where I can access my site one minute, click a few links, and then it's down for 5-10 minutes. I keep contacting support about this, but when they look, it's up, with nothing in the logs. HTTP requests are failing, while I can still ping my IP, and a traceroute will reach the site with no problems. Most of the time I am at work, and can't check ssh connectivity. The MAX_CLIENTS things was brought up one time, and they bumped it to the max allowed, but it didn't seem to help much. I KNOW that I don't have a lot of traffic on any of my sites, so this is getting very annoying. I just set up a forum, go to post to it, and bam, down the site goes for 10 minutes. Am I the only one seeing this?! Anyone have any ideas?

rolling
05-03-2007, 09:39 AM
Looks like it is time for some low level troubleshooting to see if your Apache server is having problems; it is quite possible for your site to be available to ping, traceroute, FTP, SMTP or POP, but unavailable to HTTP requests.

Try this from the command line of your PC/Mac

telnet yourdomain.com 80
HEAD / HTTP/1.0 (This will not show on your screen)
Press the enter key twice
Wait for the reply


A typical session will look like this (your entry in bold)

telnet mydomain.com 80
connecting to mydomain.com...

HEAD / HTTP/1.0
HTTP/1.1 200 OK
Date: Thu, 03 May 2007 15:36:02 GMT
Server: Apache/1.3.27 (Unix) (Red-Hat/Linux) mod_ssl/2.8.12 OpenSSL/0.9.6b PHP/
4.4.2
Connection: close
Content-Type: text/html



Connection to host lost.

scubajoe
05-03-2007, 10:59 AM
I don't get anything that looks like the above. Here is what I get:




HTTP/1.0 302 Found
Location: https://domainIdidTHISfrom/?cfru=aHR0cDovLzY5LjM2LjE2OC45Ni8=
Cache-Control: no-cache
Pragma: no-cache
Content-Type: text/html
Connection: close
Content-Length: 513

<HTML><HEAD>
<TITLE>Redirect</TITLE>
</HEAD>
<BODY>

<TABLE border=0 cellPadding=1 width="80%">
<TR><TD>

<FONT face="Helvetica"
>
You are being redirected to the authentication virtual host.
</FONT>
</TD></TR>
<TR><TD>
<FONT face="Helvetica">

</FONT>
</TD
></TR>
<TR><TD>
<FONT face="Helvetica" SIZE=2>
<BR>

</FONT>
</TD></TR>
</TABLE>
</blockquote>
</FONT>
</BODY></HTML>





Connection to host lost.

scubajoe
05-03-2007, 11:17 AM
I'm not sure what this does, but I might have to try it from home. Anyway, I found this site, which appears to go get this same info:
http://web-sniffer.net/
And got this:


HTTP Response Header
Name Value Delim
HTTP Status Code: HTTP/1.1 200 OK
Date: Thu, 03 May 2007 17:04:15 GMT CRLF
Server: Apache/1.3.27 (Unix) (Red-Hat/Linux) mod_ssl/2.8.12 OpenSSL/0.9.6b PHP/5.2.1 CRLF
Connection: close CRLF
Content-Type: text/html CRLF


Thanks for the help, 'cause I have no idea what we are looking at here. I do think that it has a lot to do with PHP (specifically phpBB2 and Gallery). Last night, I was working on the site pretty heavily, testing things out, and I had NO problem.

rolling
05-03-2007, 02:09 PM
well, in the first case you are being redirected to a secure site..??

scubajoe
05-03-2007, 02:14 PM
Not sure, probably something to do with trying this from my office, and I'm probably not supposed to. I'll have to do it from home later tonight and see what it says.

rolling
05-03-2007, 03:58 PM
You were being redirected to
https://domainididthisfrom/ and passing the parameter cfru



302 Found (http://www.w3.org/Protocols/rfc2616/rfc2616-sec10.html)

The requested resource resides temporarily under a different URI. Since the redirection might be altered on occasion, the client SHOULD continue to use the Request-URI for future requests. This response is only cacheable if indicated by a Cache-Control or Expires header field.

The temporary URI SHOULD be given by the Location field in the response. Unless the request method was HEAD, the entity of the response SHOULD contain a short hypertext note with a hyperlink to the new URI(s).

Try repeating this test when you experience the problem from both your PC and web-sniffer.

scubajoe
05-03-2007, 05:23 PM
Try repeating this test when you experience the problem from both your PC and web-sniffer.

Well, this is what I get when I do it from home:



HTTP/1.1 200 OK
Date: Thu, 03 May 2007 23:17:59 GMT
Server: Apache/1.3.27 (Unix) (Red-Hat/Linux) mod_ssl/2.8.12 OpenSSL/0.9.6b PHP/
5.2.1
Connection: close
Content-Type: text/html



Connection to host lost.


Learned something interesting. It appears that all of this might have something to do with connecting to my site from my office network. I noticed today that whenever I selected a thread in phpBB2 on my domain, hit 'back', and then reloaded the page, the view counter for the thread was jumping up by 14-16 views at a time! When I try this from home, only one view is recorded.

If this does in fact only happen when the page is accessed from my office network, then what is causing it?! Easy solution would be not to access my domain from my office network, but I can't believe that would guarantee that I would not have this happen randomly when someone accessed my site. These requests must be what is taking the site down, because I am hitting my php limit.

rolling
05-03-2007, 05:59 PM
Well, this is what I get when I do it from home:

That is what you are supposed to get :) 200 OK :) You can try GET instead of HEAD and enter the correct path for phpBB and then you should see what happens

GET /path/to/bulletin/board/post HTTP/1.0

instead of

HEAD / HTTP/1.0

scubajoe
05-03-2007, 06:57 PM
That is what you are supposed to get :) 200 OK :) You can try GET instead of HEAD and enter the correct path for phpBB and then you should see what happens

GET /path/to/bulletin/board/post HTTP/1.0

instead of

HEAD / HTTP/1.0

That gives me a "bad request" response. Again, though, it now appears that it ONLY goes down when I access the site from my office network. Any idea what that could be about? Thanks for the help, BTW! :)

rolling
05-04-2007, 03:48 AM
Well if your office is opening 15 requests per page and you open a couple of pages, then you will soon be up to your MaxClients

scubajoe
05-04-2007, 06:19 AM
Which is apparently what is happening ... but why? :confused:

rolling
05-04-2007, 04:16 PM
You'll have to ask your IT guys. Maybe they're using some fancy software...