PDA

View Full Version : Advice needed on level of technical expertise needed for managing sites/email on VPS

hyltond
12-22-2006, 01:26 PM
I'm attracted to switching to a VPS host because of email blacklisting issues with my current (shared) host. BUT - I'm not web-savvy particularly - I create and maintain my 2 web sites (real estate, though I'm a retired physicist who started using computers in 1958 :-) ) using FrontPage 2003, and have no time to be a server administrator. Could some kind person(s) please tell me if it's possible to do everything I need to do on WestHost's VPS (maintain sites, use POP email accounts, use FrontPage's inquiry-type forms for gathering information from potential clients, etc. etc.) without having to become fpretty amiliar with systems admin? I'm used to having a friendly systems administrator who could help me sort out problems - then our MLS stopped its hosting services...

All help and advice appreciated...

TIA

Dan E

jalal
12-22-2006, 03:02 PM
You can sign up to a Westhost hosting package, upload your files, setup one or two email accounts and be up and running with less than an hours work and no special skills (beyond common sense).
You may have a problem with FrontPage, I'm not sure (I avoid it like the plague), and may want to consider spending a little time in creating HTML pages from scratch or with an HTML authouring package like Dreamweaver. Maybe a FrontPage user will come by here and advise you.
And, if you want to run special software, or multiple sites on one package, or something out of the general run of things, you'll need to learn up a bit.
And, in general, I would budget a little bit of your time (maybe a rainy weekend or something) to learn the basics on how some of this stuff works (web servers, mail servers, DNS etc) just so that you have a little background in what you're doing.

But other than that, Westhost sites are "set up and go".