PDA

View Full Version : Some very newbie questions

naxos
12-16-2006, 02:16 AM
Hi all
I have no experiences in domains, just starteing learning :)
My domain is www.naxosdev.com

Question #1: In the 'Domain Management' tab of my Control Panel I found 'naxosdev.com.whsites.net' and 'naxosdev.com.yourtempsite.com'. What they are? Can be safely deleted?

Question #2: I have no domains other than 'naxosdev.com'. The 'Domain Management' tab of my Control Panel have a button called 'New'. I pressed this button and I entered a dummy name ('dummysite.net'), and then I found 'dummysite.net' listed as new domain. What exactly happened? Where and what is 'dummysite.net'? Is it usable?

Question #3: I created a folder under my 'naxosdev.com' root (myalias) and I assigned that folder to a 'Web Alias'. What's about email? How can I set myuser@myalias.naxosdev.com?

Thank you for your replies! ;)

wildjokerdesign
12-16-2006, 08:27 AM
1) Those both give you temp access to your site while your domain is propagateing. It is safe to remove them if you want to although not necessary.

2) No it is not usable. It would need to be a real domain that you registered and is set to the westhost name servers.

3) I am not sure what you are asking with this question. Could you expand on it some? An Alias is normally used how you see it here at the WH forums. Notice that there is the word forums be for the westhost domain. It is a way you can define to you users a certain part of your site. User or email accounts are set just to the main domain and not normally to an alias.

naxos
12-16-2006, 08:44 AM
Hello,
thank you for replying :)

3)Could you expand on it some? An Alias is normally used how you see it here at the WH forums. Notice that there is the word forums be for the westhost domain.
Yes, exactly like WH forum. Is this called 'subdomain', true?