PDA

View Full Version : Should I use MIVA or OS Commerce?

markw10
08-03-2006, 11:02 AM
I'm not sure if this is the place to ask this but maybe I should. I am fairly familiar with computers but am far from being a computer technie or programmer. I'm studying web page design now on Dreamweaver. I have found it hard but am slowly moving on and it's getting easier with time but things like PHP scare me a lot.
I originally planned on using MIVA which my Westhost account will handle. Two things that later swayed me to OS Commerce are first, it's easier to set up a second store on one westhost account. I heard for a second store either there is a way you link to one store from both account domains or you pay a $199 one time fee for the second miva store on that account. Is this true?
Second is it's $395 for the module to interface with Quickbooks which is very important to me.
What it comes down to though is if MIVA is better i'm fine with paying more unless it's far more in cost. I want something that looks nice online but my main concern is ease of use. I want something that's easy to set up and most of all, easy to administer from then on. I want something that I can modify instead of having one generic look but it doesn't have to be something that can be heavily modified. Any suggestion on which I should go with?

rispku
08-03-2006, 02:58 PM
Based on the criteria you presented, Miva Merchant would be the better choice. However, you didn't say what features you'd need other than the ability to export orders to quickbooks. You also didn't say what you'd be selling.

Your skill level will probably be a hindrance; you can't use Dreamweaver to directly alter the design of MM or osC's templates/frontend. MM requires some level of HTML skill, and osC forces you to alter the design by editting the source files (no integrated template system, yet).