PDA

View Full Version : Help with FormMail



themela
08-02-2006, 01:51 PM
Hello,

I thought my formmail was working, but I'm finding out messages aren't being received.

And I thought I did everything ok - first time and all.

In my Site Manager I have listed another domain. (That was a battle in itself.)
I created a form on this domain - so far so good.
I have this form going to another email account - an AOL address
I edited the FormMail's file: I added the domain to the main one already listed and I added aol.com.

The form worked (Much rejoicing)...until....

We realized the form worked on the end-user side (no error message), but we weren't getting the messages.

What did I do wrong or forgot to do?

Thanks for your time!

jalal
08-02-2006, 02:20 PM
When you say it worked, I assume that you end up with the 'Thank you for...' or whatever. The script completes successfully, yes?
And it doesn't arrive at AOL...

AOL is a little funny about emails. Check that it didn't end up in your spam box. Try sending it to a none-AOL address for a test.

Otherwise, turn on mail logging and see if there are any error messages.

HTH

torrin
08-02-2006, 03:42 PM
jalal is correct, check the error messages. If you see error number 554, it basically means that you need a static IP address ($1 extra per month) if you want to send E-mail to an AOL address.

http://forums.westhost.com/showthread.php?t=8367

themela
08-02-2006, 06:28 PM
Thank you for all your help - you guys are quick!

jalal
08-03-2006, 12:34 AM
Quick.... and also a little mystified. Did it work?

It's nice to share any solutions to problems here on the forums, that way we can help others.

Have a good day :)