PDA

View Full Version : Hmm... no configure!



spacious
07-25-2006, 06:36 PM
Anyone have any clue why I cannot run configure through SSH?

Got the GCC-

but I get on $ ./configure commands "no such file or...."

and on simply configure --help : "no such command..."

restarted the vps... hunted around and checked files...

if anyone can help... well, .... let's just say I will love you.

thanks

allyn
07-25-2006, 11:34 PM
how did you upload the file? did you upload it from a pc in binary mode? this would leave it with the wrong end-of-line character (CR-LF instead of just LF), in which case the shell would be looking for "/bin/sh^M" (where ^M is a control-M and wouldn't find it.

jalal
07-26-2006, 01:30 AM
hunted around and checked files...


And... did you find the file?

configure is not part of the system, it will be part of a software installation package (something.tgz or something.tar.gz). So, typically, to install software, you would follow the following steps:


# wget http://domain.com/files/somepackage.tgz
# cd somepackage
# ./configure
# make
# make install


But, then, maybe you already knew all that...

HTH

allyn
07-26-2006, 12:20 PM
usually the wget is followed by "zcat somepackage.tgz | tar xvf -".

jalal
07-26-2006, 02:35 PM
Right... missed that bit... :(

actually, i use:

tar xzf somepackage.tgz
but the result is the same.