PDA

View Full Version : Installing Applications in Sub-domains (directories)



fidjiti
06-29-2006, 05:44 PM
I'm new to westhost.

How can one install applications in sub-domains or directories?
i.e. PHPBB in forum.mydomain.com, osCommerce in store.mydomain.com, WordPress in blog.mydomain.com

I hope I am making sense. I am totally new to applications and sub-domains...well, almost everything. :(

I just want customers to go to store.mydomain.com then it will take them into the main page of the osCommerce shopping cart and the same for the other sub-domains.

I know that each of those applications must use a database and not sure how that would be setup. I can un-install everything and re-install if I need to. I haven't done anything except added the sub-domains and the directories(folders) for those sub-domains.

I would be willing to pay someone a reasonable fee to set it up for me if it's to complicated to explain.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

wildjokerdesign
06-30-2006, 11:45 AM
The simple way to do this is to install the programs via Site Manager. Once they are installed create your subdomains and point them to the directory that the Site Manager installed them into. :)

If you would rather not do that then you would need to go to each site for the programs you like i.e. phpBB2 - http://phpbb.com and download the program and use thier installation instructions to install it into the sub-domain direcotories you have already set up. I would suggest installing phpMyAdmin first via your Site Manager since many require that you create a database first. phpMyAdmin makes that easier to do. ;)

wildjokerdesign
06-30-2006, 11:49 AM
I just thought of something. The first option is the simplest but more then likely you are going to have to edit the configuration of each program for it's URL. The path would not matter i.e. if you saw an absolute path like /var/www/html/phpbb2/ but the url would be set to http://yourdomain.com/phpbb2/ and would need to be changed to http://forum.yourdomain.com ect.

glenncvance
06-30-2006, 02:09 PM
Wordpress is known for being simple to install. All you have to do to install it is download it from the Wordpress site, unzip it and then upload it. Follow the instructions included in the package. You don't have to use the www.mydomain.com/wordpress URL if you don't want to.

iGeek
08-29-2007, 08:14 AM
I'm having a similar problem and I can't figure out what I'm doing wrong. I installed MySQL and WordPress on the main domain of www.avnertheeccentric.com (http://www.avnertheeccentric.com) , my dad's site. However, I want to use it on my site, www.ZevEisenberg.com (http://www.ZevEisenberg.com) , a domain on the same account. I created a subdomain, blog.zeveisenberg.com (http://blog.zeveisenberg.com) , and linked it to /var/www/html/wordpress. Shouldn't that work? When I load it, however, I get a browser window with blog.zeveisenberg.com (http://blog.zeveisenberg.com) in the URL bar but the home page of www.avnertheeccentric.com (http://www.avnertheeccentric.com) for content. I've waited overnight for the subdomain changes to take effect. What am I doing wrong?

wildjokerdesign
08-29-2007, 08:40 PM
You would want to do a manual install of Wordpress for this to really work. The one that is available via Site Manager is configured to work with the main domain name.

MySQL should work with both domains. Just use the password that you entered when you set up MySQL with a username of root when you install Wordpress manually. You well need to use blog.zeveisenberg.com as the domain when you install Wordpress.

It does take some time often for subdomains to show up. Once you have the manual install of Wordpress set up you can repoint the subdomain to where you installed it.

rolling
09-03-2007, 04:11 AM
iGeek:
If you want to have separate blogs for each domain, then you need separate tables or databases for each installation. Full details can be found here (http://codex.wordpress.org/Installing_Multiple_Blogs)

Your other alternative is to install Wordpress MU (http://mu.wordpress.org/).

iGeek
09-03-2007, 07:08 AM
Do I need to do either of those if I just want one blog, and it happens not to be on the master account? Anyway, it was just something I was playing with. I've decided to just make it zeveisenberg.com/blog. Thanks for all the help, everyone!

epicheirimatias
07-04-2008, 03:38 AM
I have a wordpress running at: mydomain.com/wordpress

I've created a subdomain: blog.mydomain.com

However, we don't have a directory called, "blog.mydomain.com" so whatever WordPress saying to move index.php and htaccess makes no sense.

Any clue? This is WordPress and WestHost question, so I can't get answers from wordpress community.

wildjokerdesign
07-04-2008, 07:55 AM
When you created the subdomain did you point it to /var/www/html/wordpress? Once you do that then you may have to make some changes to the configuration via the admin section.

wildjokerdesign
07-04-2008, 08:07 AM
epicheirimatias,

Have a look at this page over at Wordpress: http://codex.wordpress.org/Settings_General_SubPanel

I think that you need to change Blog Address to be the blog.mydomain.com.

silentbob
12-13-2008, 01:05 PM
I have the same issue iGeek was having. Do I really need to do a manual install of wordpress if I want to point to blog.brandongreeley.com although my main domain is eightohfive.com?

wildjokerdesign
12-13-2008, 01:07 PM
Yes you'll need to install it manually. The WestHost provided Worpress available in Site Manager well only install the program for your main domain.

acemi
12-13-2008, 03:49 PM
I think site manager installs into a folder called wordpress. You can always change the settings in wordpress admin to reflect a new URI and I think you need to update the wp-config.php file manually.

A manual install may be best as 2.7 has been released and has quite a different UI than previous versions.