PDA

View Full Version : os commerce



lclark
04-09-2006, 05:49 AM
i installed os comerce and when i try to go into the admin i get an error

FATAL ERROR: register_globals is disabled in php.ini, please enable it!

Thanks for the help

Lisa

wildjokerdesign
04-09-2006, 10:22 AM
Gee why is it these php coders insist on haveing Register Globals on! I did not realize this was required by OSCommerce. Well I hate to have you turn them on universally in php.ini. Are you running this in a sub directory of the site?

wildjokerdesign
04-09-2006, 10:35 AM
You can turn Register Globals on per directory by useing the following placed in an .htaccess file that is located in the direcotry you want it turned on in.

php_flag register_globals on

This may be a better solution the changeing it in php.ini. That way if you happen to be running other php scripts that may not be as secure you do not open them up to attack. OsCommerce is pretty well maintianed and more then likely if you keep track of security updates on the program you will be ok with turning Register Globals on for the directory it is in.

You might want to also check this out at the OsCommerce Site.
Register Globals (http://www.oscommerce.com/community/contributions,2097)

jalal
04-09-2006, 12:18 PM
You can also take a look through the osCommerce forums and find a solution. Sorry I don't have a link, but rest assured, you are not the first to come up against this problem. Turning on 'register_globals' is not a suitable solution tho.

lclark
04-09-2006, 01:16 PM
You can also take a look through the osCommerce forums and find a solution. Sorry I don't have a link, but rest assured, you are not the first to come up against this problem. Turning on 'register_globals' is not a suitable solution tho.


thanks all.

i need it turned on for 2 sites, one is a subdomain and the other is its own.

i was going to search the oscommerce forum but i didnt know if it was with os or west host so i figured id start here, ill check the os commerce forums.

thanks

Lisa

wildjokerdesign
04-09-2006, 05:08 PM
I guess I really should not have posted how to turn it off per directory. Jalal is really right that turning it on is just not a good idea. The link I added to my first post should give you more info on pathes and once there you should be able to also search thier forums for more info on the subject.

lclark
04-09-2006, 05:35 PM
I guess I really should not have posted how to turn it off per directory. Jalal is really right that turning it on is just not a good idea. The link I added to my first post should give you more info on pathes and once there you should be able to also search thier forums for more info on the subject.


okay, i havent found anything yet. i found the messages on the oscommerce forums but i havent had a chance to do anything, i havent uploaded it yet.

since i am here,,,,, when i make the folders on in the file management , where do i put the os program? should i just make another folder for osc in the /var/www/planethifi folder?

thanks

wildjokerdesign
04-09-2006, 08:49 PM
Huh? I thought you already had OsCommerce uploaded and installed? What is in /var/www/planethifi? Is that the document root you set for an added domain? If so then yes should be able to simply add a new directory for your store.

lclark
04-10-2006, 04:36 AM
Huh? I thought you already had OsCommerce uploaded and installed? What is in /var/www/planethifi? Is that the document root you set for an added domain? If so then yes should be able to simply add a new directory for your store.

havent had a chance to upload yet, been too crazy, that is the new page's directory. just wanted to double check before do it and spend more time fixing.

thanks alot shawn.


lisa