PDA

View Full Version : get rid of www?



rail
08-17-2005, 01:59 PM
This might be related to other recent posts. I already posted this in the email section but got no response:

I found the info on this forum to set up email accounts for my second domain that are just aliases to my main domain. But they weren't working and I finally figured out that while name@domain2.com doesn't work, name@www.domain2.com does.

I realized this by looking at how the original virtusertable file was setup. It had 'www' in front of domains other than my main one. But when I edited that file, I eliminated the 'www's and ran makemap hash virtusertable < virtusertable. And this was reflected in the virtusertable.db file.

Any other ideas how to cut the www?

torrin
08-17-2005, 03:20 PM
Any other ideas how to cut the www?

Did you look here?

http://www.domsch.com/westhost/

At the bottom of the page it talks about getting rid of www in IMP.

rail
08-17-2005, 03:35 PM
Thanks.

It was actually really easy to fix using the manager too. Just go to Domain Management-> Edit and get rid of the 'www.' in the domain name. Then you set up a 'www' subdomain so that 'www.domain.com' will work again.

rail
08-17-2005, 03:48 PM
I spoke too soon. This didn't actually change anything. I just reset my VPS and it still only works with the 'www.'

rail
08-17-2005, 04:31 PM
OK. I guess it just takes a little while for it to register. It's working now.

TAiN
06-09-2006, 06:00 AM
Works for me as well but I also had to uncomment

<VirtualHost _default_:*>
</VirtualHost>to prevent a startup error.

TAiN
06-09-2006, 10:37 AM
Works for me as well but I also had to uncomment
to prevent a startup error.
Oops. That redirected all vhosts to the default. Not good :)

I changed it back...starting the httpd gives an error now but everything seems to work fine.