PDA

View Full Version : Fritz's MySQL, PHP & phpMyAdmin Upgrade Instructions

coppercup
01-05-2005, 11:16 AM
:idea:

After bumbling for weeks (getting no actual production done) I have developed a complete set of instructions for upgrading a WestHost VPS to MySQL 4.x, PHP 4.x, and phpMyAdmin.

The instruction set, with thorough notes included, can be found in Rich Text Format here:

http://www.coppercupimages.com/FritzsMySqlPhpPhpMyAdminUpgradeInstructionsV1.rtf

As noted in the document, I am not an expert and can't make any guarantees, but I'm sure this information will be very helpful for those of you wanting to do the same thing; at least until WestHost gets this software updated.

If you can add useful information to what I have here, please let me know about it! :D

nsc
01-05-2005, 04:20 PM
Thank you very much for posting these instructions.

Just to note that a tar.gz file can be opened/uncompressed by issuing "tar -zxvf [filename]" and a tar.bz2 file needs "tar -jxvf [filename]". So there is no need to issue both gunzip and tar, because tar can call the gunzip with the z parameter. The unix tar utility was designed to make tape backups easy by placing many files and directories into a single tar file.

Also, it is usually easier to use the pico editor rather than the vi. Issue: "pico [filename]" and after that you can save the file with CTRL+O and exit with CTRL+X.

coppercup
01-07-2005, 02:42 PM
Well, I just received an email from WestHost announcing Site Manager upgrades this weekend (Jan 8, 2005). Though the email does not specify that they will be upgrading PHP and MySQL, I just read a WestHost forum response from Wednesday saying that they will be upgraded next week. Putting two and two together, I can only assume they are doing it as part of the announced upgrade. That is great news! :P

Now, if only I hadn't just literally spent a whole month figuring out how to do these upgrades manually.... :?

Tom Howard
01-12-2005, 02:46 PM