PDA

View Full Version : Help w/ Perl code and MailTools to manipulate emails

amaterasu2915
12-07-2004, 07:53 PM
I believe I posted long ago w/ a technical question about operating a Linux server. People were really, really helpful (as I am a total Linux newbie), and I hope you can help me once again.

I am building a development server in preparation for the creation of a web site. The server will receive emails and identify the sender and recipient email addresses in each message, storing them in a database among other things.

I have (with the help of this community) arranged to have emails run through a Perl script by manipulating virtusertable and aliases (a titanic accomplishment for me.) I have installed the Perl module MailTools, and can use Mail::Internet to identify email addresses in the following complete form, for example:

Bob Smith <bob@att.net>

But I need the program to isolate the e-mail address alone, in other words:

bob@att.net

I have fought with my (very poor) Perl programming skills, but to no avail. The code (which I have been using) is something like this:

#! /usr/bin/perl
# /usr/local/bin/remailer.pl

use Mail::Internet;
use Mail::Address;

$mail = Mail::Internet->new( \*STDIN );

$sender=$mail->get('Reply-To') ||
$mail->get('From');

$sender=(Mail::Address->parse($sender))[0];

open (FH, '>/tmp/output.txt');
print FH @to;
print FH @from;
print FH $sender;
close (FH);

This code bit results in an error, saying: can't call method "address" on undefined value. The address method (I believe, but I could be wrong) should isolate the email address. It's meant to be a very simple test code: it receives an email text through standard input, identifies the full email addresses for recipient and sender, and then creates a file called output.txt that lists those full email addresses, as well as the email address of the sender, stripped of comments, name or greater and lesser signs.