PDA

View Full Version : PROCMAIL and PROCMAILRC locations?

sarr
10-07-2004, 08:55 PM
Hi,

I'm new to WH, and I'm trying to understand how to get PROCMAIL set up. It appears that PROCMAIL is already installed, and I see the file [procmailrc] in my /etc directory, but I'm not sure it's working. I thought you needed to have a [.procmailrc] in your $HOME, and also a [.forward].

Is there WH documentation on how to use these? If not, would some kind soul help me understand how to set these up? I'm trying to implement some mail-driven scripts for my website with various addresses (list-subscribe@domain.com, site-scan@domain.com, etc.).

Thanks for any help you can provide.
-- Steve G. (sarr)

FZ
10-08-2004, 11:27 AM
/etc/procmailrc is your "global" Procmail recipe file: what you put in there applies to all incoming mail on your account. This one doesn't start with a .

You don't need a .forward on WestHost - it's all set up for you, you just need to create your .procmailrc in the home directory for the account you want to set up recipes for. For your "root" account, that would be / for all other accounts it would the the home directory you set up for them via your Site Manager (i.e. you have to create them with FTP enabled, give them a home directory, and then disable FTP later if you don't need it - this keeps the home directory).

As for scripting, I would recommend using the Site Manager to create "command" aliases.

sarr
10-08-2004, 12:30 PM
Thank you Fayez. Um... is there any way to set up procmail to handle/act as a "catch all"? Do I create a CatchAll account and work with its .procmailrc?

FZ
10-08-2004, 12:56 PM
Steve,