PDA

View Full Version : can't connect with ftp client

owen100
10-01-2004, 05:12 PM
I never had a problem before but I must have changed a setting somewhere and now with ftp programs such as cute ftp and wsftp I can't get into my html directory. I get a "no response from server" error. I can get in the ftp directory OK.

I've tried auto detect, default settings and port and pasv settings but nothing changes.

Im a novice with ftp as I never had a problem before so what could I be doing wrong?

FZ
10-02-2004, 07:25 AM
Have you referred to the WestHost manual? It would be a good place to start, and make sure that you have your settings correct: http://manual.westhost.com/part2.html#ftp-pc

If you still can't get it to work, feel free to ask again.

owen100
10-03-2004, 06:43 AM
Yes, I double checked there; obviously the info there is the same as in the setup email so I was already doing that part OK.

I doubt it's a westhost issue, it's got to be something to do with my settings locally. Everything always worked fine in the past but now for some reason, whatever FTP client I use I can't get in to my html folder unless I use bulletproof ftp. That lets me in but I can't download directories or do much at once because it keeps needing a refresh so I don't like using it.

I have checked the settings entered in bulletproof against settings I have in other clients but they look the same.

Help!!!

rbayless
10-03-2004, 07:37 PM
Owen100,

Have you tried uninstalling your favorite FTP client you're using right now and reinstalling it? Uninstall, reboot, and reinstall..

:mrgreen:

Richard

wildjokerdesign
10-03-2004, 07:54 PM
Any new firewall or virus protection progams installed recently?

sandon
10-04-2004, 03:06 PM