View Full Version : wdrp-name services

07-28-2004, 02:12 PM
Hello, My domain is both hosted and registered by Westhost. Today I received an email from a company called wdrp.name-services.com asking me to check my whois information, and providing a specific link for that purpose. I do not recall having ever corresponded with WDRP. Is WDRP related to Westhost, or is it a scam? Is it safe to click on that link?

I did a search on WDRP in these forums and did not find anything. A search on Google (wdrp scam) only refers me to many other forums where webmasters are asking the same question, with no definitive answers. The Google search "wdrp westhost" does not produce any results, which leads me to believe that both companies have nothing in common.

Dear Domain Holder,

This message is a reminder to help you keep the contact data associated with your domain registration up-to-date.

As of October 31, 2003 we are required by the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN) to send you this reminder by the Anniversary date of each registered Domain Name that is subject to the terms and conditions of that organization.

Below is a list of domain names with your email address listed as the registrant or administrative contact. The current contact information associated with the domain may be verified by following the link provided.
If any of the contact data is inaccurate, it must be corrected. If the contact data is accurate, no further action is required to comply with this notice.

Please remember that under the terms of your registration agreement, the provision of false Whois (contact) information can be grounds for cancellation of your domain name registration.

Domain Names with Anniversary Dates between August 1 and August 31

Name: Registration Date:
------ -----------------
my_domain_name.com Aug 15, 2001
View Contact Data: <http://wdrp.name-services.com/whois.asp?key=xxxxxxxxxxx>

Thank you for your attention.


WDRP Compliance

07-28-2004, 02:23 PM
Hi Mark,

I don't think this company is related to WestHost. Any thing that has to do with my domain regisitrations that are through WestHost come from WestHost and are clearly marked. I belive that the link to change things with your domain registration that is through WestHost is a westhost.com url. You should have recieved an email with your registration info and how to log in and change it when you first signed up with WH.

OH I guess by all that I am saying.... I think it is a company trying to get you to switch your registration to thier service. :)

07-29-2004, 09:16 AM
Hi Mark,

Thought I would come back and add some info. I was looking back through my old emails to see just what I recieved from WestHost on manageing domain registration. The url that WestHost provides for updating you infromation is http://register.westhost.com/admin/

The username and password should have been sent to you. If you do not have it I would contact support and ask them to send it to you again.

Once you are logged in it is a framed page with the WestHost logo on top and the bottom frame is coming from access.enom.com and wich well need to set a cookie on your local machine.

I hope that helps you or anyothers who may have the same question.

07-29-2004, 10:47 AM
Thanks for helping. I was able to login after resetting my privacy options to Low and checked that everything is OK. The WDRP emails seem to generate various opinions. Some think they are legitimate, some others that they are a scam. Search Google for 'WDRP scam' to see what I mean. Normally with a scam, the opinions are quite uniform.

07-29-2004, 12:17 PM
Yes I the email itself seems legit from reading different post about the web. Since emon.com is a company that WestHost seems to be reselling through (hope they don't mind me saying that) and name-services.com belongs to emon.