PDA

View Full Version : New to PHP-database connection problems

kitty
06-09-2004, 07:30 PM
Domain name:gurukitty.com
Okay, not only am i new to PHP i've never used PHPMyAdmin before.
Im trying to install a directory script made by a friend of mine and i get this error: "Cannot connect to the MySQL server. Please check your variables and re-upload the config.php file or try again later."

No matter what i do.
I created a database called simpledir in my PHPadmin ... i think =\
Maybe someone could give me a little rundown on how to create a new empty database and a user for it? Just to make sure i did everything right?

There is only one file i should be editing according to her instructions and thats config.php, this is the code on it:

<?php

// SimpleDir 2.2
// Copyright 2003 Tara, http://www.ice-star.net. All rights reserved.
// Released August 28, 2003

# your host (usually "localhost"; check with your hosting provider if this doesn't work)
$dbhost = "localhost";

# the name of the database where the information for this script will be stored
$dbname = "simpledir";

# username for the database
$dbuser = "kitty";

# username's password
$dbpass = "pass";

/* name of the table for the configuration options to be stored in */
$tbconfig = "config";

/* name of the table for the links */
$tblinks = "links";

/* name of the table for the categories */
$tbcats = "cats";

# header file, to be included on add.php and listing.php
# if this file is not in the same directory as add.php and listing.php, please put the absolute path to the file below
# please make sure that you have the extension correct
# ex: /home/gurukitty.com/dir/header.inc.php
$headerv = "header.inc.php";

# footer file, to be included on add.php and listing.php
# if this file is not in the same directory as add.php and listing.php, please put the absolute path to the file below
# please make sure that you have the extension correct
# ex: /home/gurukitty.com/dir/header.inc.php
$footerv = "footer.inc.php";