PDA

View Full Version : Data Center



hostenz
05-25-2004, 03:16 AM
Where exactly is the Data Center located? The last hop before the router appears to be Chicago. Would I be correct in assuming that it is there?

The main reason I want to know is: When/if (most likely when) I get a server through Westhost (either VPS or dedicated, I have not quite decided yet), I like to be able to tell my clients where their accounts are.

For at least one of my clients, I will (almost) definately be using a VPS, as I would like to run mod_mono (ASP.NET Module for Apache from Ximian), rather than trying to translate it to PHP from ASP. I assume that this would be allowed?

I like the idea of putting my new clients in this DC: From here at HostENZ (Hamilton, NZ), westhost.com seems to be only 10 hops router-to-router, and in the same DC as one of NZ's largest web-hosts: WebFarm.

wildjokerdesign
05-25-2004, 05:44 AM
Utah
http://www.westhost.com/datacenter.html

MacToph
05-25-2004, 03:59 PM
For at least one of my clients, I will (almost) definately be using a VPS, as I would like to run mod_mono (ASP.NET Module for Apache from Ximian), rather than trying to translate it to PHP from ASP. I assume that this would be allowed?

We just moved over to the dedicated server plan and I I'm not sure if this is what you're inferring, but I don't think that you can run VPS on a dedicated server.

In addition, the control panels for accounts on a dedicated server are very simplistic (similar to those in WH 1.0) and the documentation is pretty sparse.