PDA

View Full Version : What's a lot of traffic?



Anonymous
05-22-2004, 12:00 PM
Background: I run a community fan site for a band. The official site for the band shut down the most active forum on their site and told members to go to mine. My site traffic quadrupled over night. I supposed I've been metaphorically slashdotted. :wink:

I'm shopping around for a new host. Although with my current host I supposedly have 60 GBs of transfer a month, I don't see how I could ever get there when my site slows to a crawl when there's a lot of traffic. If I were to estimate how much GBs I'd use in a month based on the recent traffic increase, I'd say 10-15 GBs.

The most active part of my site is the forum of course. It's a phpBB one. So what I really need to know is is 30-50 concurrent users too much for VPS hosting? 30-50 is really a guess. My board has never gone over 29 users because it can't with my current host. It slows at 20 and chokes at 29.

Another question: I see that accounts come with phpBB preinstalled. Am I able to mod it?

wildjokerdesign
05-22-2004, 01:35 PM
I am not real sure of an answer on your transfer questions although I think you would be ok. I don't think anyone has had problems with the amount of users on their boards.

In regard to your question about if you can mod phpBB.... Oh yes! phpBB is not installed by default on your account you have to do it in via the Site Manager if you want it. If you know enough to mod phpBB then I would suggest that instead of using the WH Site Manager install that you simply do a manual install of the current version. The WH install was an older version... not sure if they have changed that or not.

The board that is listed in my sig is a modded version and if you check the links under Web Design on my site (Puppets and Stuff)you can see a really modded vesion running.

HTH

FZ
05-23-2004, 08:56 AM
Related to the traffic issue, keep in mind that all e-mail (incoming and outgoing), all FTP transfers you make, files you download via SSH, etc. etc. are all counted against your bandwidth quota. So, if you get A LOT of e-mail, you should add to your initial estimate of what you might need. Also keep in mind that for extra bandwidth, you need to upgrade your entire package, you can't just buy extra bandwidth.