PDA

View Full Version : PHP NUKE Installation



2fangs
05-13-2004, 10:02 AM
I can't seem to get PHP Nuke going. After installation, there's an error message saying


There seems to be a problem with the MySQL server, sorry for the inconvenience.

We should be back shortly.

Anyone has any idea on what to do?

wildjokerdesign
05-13-2004, 01:42 PM
Have no knowledge of PHP Nuke but have you installed phpMyAdmin to check your MySQL tables? Also did you install MySQL via your Site Manager? The second it required to run a MySQL database and the second is a great tool for working with that database. The erro almost sounds like it is generated by the PHP Nuke script and it may be that it gives that error when it can not connect to MySQL.

2fangs
05-13-2004, 02:19 PM
Have no knowledge of PHP Nuke but have you installed phpMyAdmin to check your MySQL tables? Also did you install MySQL via your Site Manager? The second it required to run a MySQL database and the second is a great tool for working with that database. The erro almost sounds like it is generated by the PHP Nuke script and it may be that it gives that error when it can not connect to MySQL.

Yes, i've installed phpMyAdmin and also installed MySQL through sitemanager. However, I'm not too sure about the settings for the database. Where do i find that.

wildjokerdesign
05-13-2004, 03:34 PM
What is PHP Nuke asking you for? It should be something like this..

db type = mysql
db host = localhost
db name = should be in your php nuke info or use phpMyAdmin to check what database it created.
db user = root
db passwd = all depends on when you set the mysql database up could be the same as your main account password.

Those are the variables that phpBB2 has to have to connect to a database and they are stored in a config file in it's directory.

visible soul
05-24-2004, 11:45 PM
Hey 2fangs, did you get it going? I have played around with PostNuke on a westhost vds and it works great. I'm thinking about using it for my .org site.

The only thing I will add to what wildjoker has posted above is that I had to create a user besides "root" to get PostNuke to connect to the database.

-DKC-

Armadillo
07-10-2004, 10:59 PM
I just installed Nuke myself and I got the same error.

"db user = root" is wrong. It should be your MySQL username- try your domain name.

Also, did you use phpMyAdmin to run the nuke.sql file on the database?