PDA

View Full Version : Dropped Email

theaudioforum
04-27-2004, 10:22 AM
I am new to WestHost and have been configuring my new site. I have had mixed success with email through my domain. Some emails never arrive and others there are no problems. I have checked with "mailq" and there are no messages in the queue. I have noticed the missing emails both inbound and outbound to or from my domain. The problem is most prevalent when sending mail back and forth within my own domain. My server is 69.36.161.116. Any assistance on how to troubleshoot this issue would be greatly appreciated. I must have reliable email.

jalal
04-27-2004, 11:17 AM
Your best bet is to get the guys at Westhost to look into it. If its a new setup then it should 'just work'. Try and give them as much info as possible, they are pretty on the ball these days.

Should you wish to get your hands dirty (and you know what you are doing in Linux) then you can check out my pages (see .sig) and especially the page on logging.

But, best to ask for WH support.

HTH

FZ
04-27-2004, 11:32 AM
The problem is most prevalent when sending mail back and forth within my own domain.

This seems to be a known problem. The solution is to assign home directories for the e-mail/FTP accounts that you create (you can do that by enabling FTP access for the account in question, and then you can later disable it, this will create and keep the home directory).