PDA

View Full Version : RBL Filter before forwarding E-mail?

rufus
04-23-2004, 10:49 PM
I have to forward e-mail from a Westhost account to another e-mail address that uses RBL to block SPAM. The RBL on my other account completely stops SPAM, but everything sent to my Westhost account comes through unmolested (because it's sent by Westhost, not someone on the RBL).

Is there an easy way to implement an RBL before forwarding e-mail? I found this post...

I added features to sendmail.mc then ran it. Sure enough they were added to sendmail.cf.

FEATURE(dnsbl, `sbl.spamhaus.org',`"550 Mail from " $&{client_addr} " refused. Rejected AS SPAM, for more information see http://www.spamhaus.org/SBL/"')

FEATURE(`dnsbl', `relays.ordb.org', `"550 Email rejected due to sending server misconfiguration - see http://www.ordb.org/faq/\#why_rejected"')dnl

Apparently there is more than just one way of killing spam.

at: http://forums.westhost.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=1423

but I'm new to Unix and don't know what I need to do to 'run it' to make this work. Is there an explicit set of directions someplace. I've heard that SendMail is easy to mess up.

Thanks in advance!

FZ
04-24-2004, 09:56 AM
Hi rufus,

I've tried the method in that post myself to get RBL, but it did not work for me. Yes, Sendmail can be messed up pretty easily, so I wouldn't recommend touching that. HOWEVER, there is another method you can use: you can enable SpamAssassin on your WestHost account, and enable RBL's in SpamAssassin itself. In that case, then, you'd need to make the forwarding alias a "proper POP3" with a home directory, and then use Procmail to forward anything that is not marked as spam, or any e-mail that does not contain SpamAssassin's RBL tests (as positive).

This shouldn't be too difficult to do, so if you'd like to give it a go, let me know.