PDA

View Full Version : Ending Server Processes and Sorting PHPMyAdmin view.

andy
04-04-2004, 04:17 PM
1- I notice I have PHPMyAdmin processes that are in the state of "sleep" after I query my database. They usually vanish after 5-10 minutes. I'm new to PHP. I'm pretty sure I need to do a...
mysql_free_result($Recordset1); (this was a database query)
for every database lookup I do, but do I also need to do a ...
mysql_free_result($variable1); (this was a variable)
for every variable I set in the PHP session?

2- In PHPMyAdmin's main view (clicking on the magnifing glass over the little piece of paper) which does a browse of my database table records it sorts the results in an order I'd like to change. I have one autoincrement primary key, and I would like the view to always sort by that key. How can I do this?

Thanks again for the help.

wildjokerdesign
04-04-2004, 04:29 PM
I don't think you need to do it when on the variables that you set just on the queries that you do of the database. Or at least that is how I see it if I am understanding your question. Hopefully someone well correct me if I am wrong.

Not sure on the sorting for phpMyAdmin. I'll go take a look and see if I can come up with an answer for that one.

FZ
04-04-2004, 04:50 PM
1. I'm not sure what you mean by processes here? How are you checking? Also, I would not worry too much about this. I'm sure the WestHost servers are more than capable of handling a few extra processes, and like you say they go away after a few minutes anyway. I would just recommend you code your own PHP with the mysql_free_result "in mind", and not worry about doing it for PHPmyAdmin - it'll get really tedious!