View Full Version : need an example of simple perl script + html

smashcon
03-14-2004, 04:14 AM
i can't get a simple 'hello' world script to work. i've done the following:
1) placed the script in the cgi-bin
2) script's name is hello.pl
3) its mode is 755
4) script contents bellow
5) i've tried running it by going to it directly (www.mydomain.com/cgi-bin/hello.pl) and got a 500 error.
6) i've tried to use SSI but no include was created.
7) i've tried changing the script's extention to cgi.

the "hello.pl" script:
#!/bin/perl
print "&lt;HTML><BODY>Perl CGI Hello World!</BODY>&lt;/HTML>";

as you can probably understand, i have no experience with cgi scripts - only with perl and html.

any pointer to what i'm doing wrong, or any example that anyone can show me will be very much appreciated!

thanks,
uri.

FZ
03-14-2004, 05:28 AM
I've run into this problem a couple of times myself. The fix is annoyingly simple:

#!/bin/perl
print "Content-type&#58; text/html\n\n";
print "&lt;HTML>Hello from Perl&lt;/HTML>";

All you need to add is line number 2, which is stating (to either the server or the browser, I'm not sure) that the output you are generating (i.e. your next print statement) is HTML and should be interpreted as such.

Good luck with the Perl coding! Personally, I prefer PHP - it is so much easier, and much more forgiving. Plus, 99% of the time, it generates an error that actually tells you exactly where you have gone wrong, instead of just spitting out an unfriendly error 500.

wildjokerdesign
03-14-2004, 06:01 AM
Well there is what Fayez mentioned and you have the path to perl set wrong if you are woking on a WestHost account.
/usr/bin/perl

FZ
03-14-2004, 06:32 AM
/bin/perl works too ;)

Both /bin/perl and /usr/bin/perl are actually symlinks to /usr/local/perl/bin/perl...

Update: I forgot to mention that you might actually be able to pick up something useful (debugging-wise) if you take a look at /var/log/httpd/error_log.

wildjokerdesign
03-14-2004, 07:19 AM