PDA

View Full Version : How do I identify all .pif virus files as spam

Glocom
03-09-2004, 06:03 AM
Is there a very simple rule I can add to procmailrc that will identify any email with a .pif file as spam (and a few other file types)? I am already bouncing all messages flagged as spam. I just want these files to trigger that.

Thanks.

FZ
03-09-2004, 11:20 AM
What I do to battle the current barrage of virii-infested mail, is use this piece of (Procmail) code:

:0B:
* ^Content-Type.*octet-stream
/mail/virii

I've been using it for a while now, and while it does not specifically do what you ask for, it will definitely stop the virii-infested mail (by moving it to a mailbox file called "virii" in your /mail folder). However, I'm no expert on the topic of content-encoding/type so the above might filter mail with "legal" attachments too (which is why I move mail to a mailbox file, which I scan through manually before emptying).

WestHost - MMellor
03-16-2004, 06:36 PM
Hello Glocom,

Another solution to this is to setup email filters within the email program that you are using. You can set Outlook to move any emails which contain those file extensions to a folder which you can then delete. Let me know if this helps.

hipstergk
03-17-2004, 08:29 AM
i have this little bit of code at the top of my procmail file:

:0
* < 256000
* ! ^Content-Type: text/plain
{
:0B
* ^(Content-(Type|Disposition):.*|[ ]*(file)?)name=("[^"]*|[^ ]*)\.(com|pif|scr)
/dev/null
}

the following

* ^(Content-(Type|Disposition):.*|[ ]*(file)?)name=("[^"]*|[^ ]*)\.(com|pif|scr)
should all be on one line, if you just copy everything from above you should be alright.

this will delete any .com, .pif, or .scr attachments.
if you'd rather not delete them, just change /dev/null to whereever you want them moved to.

pnat331
03-25-2004, 03:52 PM
I have 9 mail user accounts on my site and would like to have .procmailrc scan each of those accounts for viral messages. What do I have to do to configure this?