PDA

View Full Version : Is this PHP script safe?

samp
02-05-2004, 02:33 PM
Asking if this script is safe mainly because it calls "mail" and I am not familiar with all the ins and outs of mail/sendmail, etc. and I am not an experienced coder.

(Also, please see related followup question.)

This is the script:

<?php
if (strstr($_SERVER['HTTP_USER_AGENT'], "Googlebot")) {
$body = "Googlebot just visited this page: " . $_SERVER["PHP_SELF"];
mail("My_email_address", "Google Alert " . $_SERVER["PHP_SELF"], $body);
};
?>

This simply sends me an email every time user agent "googlebot" visits a page on the site. It works, but just want to make sure there are no holes in it.

Thanks.

wildjokerdesign
02-05-2004, 03:44 PM
Don't belive you well have any problems. Nothing seems to be coming from user input and I think that is where you would get in trouble. I'm not an exepert but can't see any holes from the knowledge I have.

FZ
02-05-2004, 06:40 PM
You should be fine with that, as long as you don't publicize that you have that code on a specific page - because someone could easily fake the user agent string to match that, and reload the page many times, effectively mailbombing you. My recommendation to you would be to manually check your access_log (and search for occurrences of "google") for this data. Another alternative would be to install something like AWStats (http://awstats.sourceforge.net) which will provide you with detailed stats, including information on user agent strings.

wildjokerdesign
02-05-2004, 08:22 PM
FZ,

So if someone where to do what you mentioned it would simply be a malicous hack that would fill the mail box right? They wouldn't be able fake the e-mail it was sent to could they?

FZ
02-05-2004, 08:29 PM