PDA

View Full Version : MYD's & frm's ?

firebirdfan
12-17-2003, 03:48 AM
Hi I'm new to databases, I can get my program working locally on apache/mysql.
But when I upload to the WH server into a subfolder I cant - I get cant connect to database.
I've installed mysql. I've checked the codes I dont know if the "localhost" connection is the problem - I've checked the filename connection is right.

Pls advise.

wildjokerdesign
12-17-2003, 08:51 AM
Was this request to do with the card script that you got going?

I have phpMyAdmin installed on my sites that use mysql databases so I can check the existance of a database. I have run across a couple scripts that you have to create the database yourself since they do not do it and phpMyAdmin makes it really easy.

firebirdfan
12-17-2003, 06:06 PM
Nope Shawn it;s not related, just wondering why it wouldnt work on the server,when it worked on my localhost.

firebirdfan
12-19-2003, 11:11 PM
Hi guys I would like to know where to place my database folder.

Locally there's a folder in mysql/data/ - where all your databas folders are placed - so that the php pages can connect to it.

I cant find the folder. - Pls help

jalal
12-20-2003, 07:50 AM
Firebirdfan.

I'm not sure if I understood what you are doing (your original question made no sense to me) but now I think that that you are trying to upload the mysql datafiles from your local computer onto your Westhost server (that is, the "myd,myi,frm" files from /var/lib/mysql/).
Is that right?

It won't work. MySQL doesn't work like that.

firebirdfan
12-21-2003, 05:14 PM
Yes, I've uploaded those data files into the same folder of those PHP files that calls out from the data files.

Locally on my desktop with Apache mysql & php installed I can get it working , as I place the data files into the mysql bin folder.

So now on the server I can't find the mysql bin.. therefore my php files cant access the database & hence the error - can pls advise where do i place the data files ?

jalal