PDA

View Full Version : limiting domains for accounts



mrhyde
12-05-2003, 01:11 PM
I need to know if there is any way we can LIMIT the number of domains allowed for an IP Based VPS account we setup under our own reseller accunt. Basically, what is meant is this:

Suppose I create a VPS (IP based) account from my reseller panel. Then when I go to the site manager for the new account I created, I see that there is provision for adding multiple domains for that account. Is there any way I can restrict that, because I don't want my client to be able to add any more domains to his account. And the client is obviously going to have access to the site manager for his website.

wildjokerdesign
12-05-2003, 08:32 PM
You should be able to restrict this when you setup the service package. There is a an option called Max DNS Recordsm rigth under IP Mode. I think that well do it. Termanology is not the same but I am almost sure that is what that means.

mrhyde
12-06-2003, 09:59 AM
I don't know... I tried doing that, but the "Max DNS Records" takes a MIN value of 10 for me - anything less and it doesn't accept and says that it can only take a value which is at least as big as the number of DNS records already present.. and their documentation regarding this is zilch.

Any more ideas ??

wildjokerdesign
12-06-2003, 11:41 AM
It may be the HTTP Max Accounts. That field will accept a value of one... at least when you create a new account. Right now I am a bit limited on my experimenting with this since my reseller is a new account and the existing accounts where transfered and set up by WestHost.

mrhyde
12-06-2003, 12:02 PM
Ahhh.. I got a response from westhost suport... this is what they have to say:

"Unfortunately the reseller account does not come with the ability to limit the number of domains per VPS. You will need to communicate with the client and possibly monitor that they don't add any more domains than what they have agreed on."

So no luck for us !!

wildjokerdesign
12-06-2003, 09:28 PM
That is unfurtunate. I wonder if it something that WestHost could modify or if it is something to do with VPS technology? They limit their own packages. Maybe we can convince them it is a vauleuble option to add.

Anonymous
12-26-2003, 05:22 PM
We have the ability to limit the number of available additional domains on an account, and so far I have not found a way via Reseller Manager to limit this. If you would like a specific limit for an account set, and it really does need to be set, let us know and we'll adjust the domain limit for that account.

We'll definitely take into account the fact that this is a requested feature from our resellers, and hopefully someday there will be a tool for you all to use so that you don't have to wait for us to adjust the limit for you when that is necessary.