PDA

View Full Version : Multiple Websites



Jeff321
11-12-2003, 05:14 PM
Can I host multiple websites on one package? Are .htaccess files allowed to enable me to do this? Thanks!

wildjokerdesign
11-12-2003, 06:01 PM
You can point more then one domain at your account and even have them point to diffrent directories on you account. There are some limitations to this with regular accounts. It is hard to have more then one cgi-bin and with e-mail accounts johndoe@seconddomain will be sent to johndoe@mainaccount. WestHost does allow you to use .htacess files. The more technical knowledge you have the more you can do.

Depending on how many website you wish to host you may be better off getting a resellers account there is more information about them at the links below. With them you can host mutiple accounts and do not have the cgi-bin and e-mail restrictions.

Priceing http://www.westhost.com/resellers.html
Overview http://members.westhost.com/resellermanager.html
Reseller FAQ http://www.westhost.com/faq/6.html

I just switched my main account to a Reseller 1 Account and had my other accounts set underneath that... so far so good.

Jeff321
11-12-2003, 06:47 PM
Thanks for the info.

I would probably only need 2-3 domains, and they're mine, so a reseller account is not necessary. I should not need to use the cgi-bin at all, my website is all PHP, and as long as I can run those anywhere that would be fine. The e-mail addresses are not a major concern of mine either.

Just looking for a host with good uptime, reliability, and security. On my current host it is easy to view other's files on the same server using scripts like PHP-Shell, and users often do things which kill the entire server or MySQL... I'm hoping with a VDS host there will be no issues like that.

So, on a host like this, how do server upgrades work? How do they upgrade everybody's account? Or do they?

wildjokerdesign
11-12-2003, 07:14 PM
Sounds like you will be fine with a regular account. I know some of the other users do what you are doing.

PHP is working fairly well and you should have little or no problems. The big thing to watch for when you are working with WestHost and thier SiteManager is that you have full control of what is used on your account. Some features are reliant on other things and as a rule when you mouse over the name of the feature it will tell you the other installs that it is reliant on. They are still working on thier documentaion for things and refineing it to be a little more clear but if come to the Forum when you have questions there are alot of us users that can help you get around.

Not real sure what upgrades they will be doing but do know they have the ability to do it. Since 2.0 they have had to do some upgrades and patches to all the accounts and they genrally do them in the early morning hours... that is MST time since they are located in Utah. For some who are overseas this can be a bit of an inconvience but lately it has only been for a short time that they have had to shut down the servers to make changes.

If you are going to do alot of changes to your config files and such I think you should keep an eye on this and make sure you back up and be ready to rework some stuff if an upgrade changes it. You can keep track of Server Annoucments here http://updates.westhost.com/

Sorry I got a bit long winded I just kept thinking of things.

Jeff321
11-12-2003, 08:01 PM
Heh, thanks again. If I think of any other questions I'll reply later.