PDA

View Full Version : Westhost Hacks: Tips and Tricks

jalal
11-05-2003, 11:56 AM
There have been so many good tips and tricks posted to this forum, that I've tried to pull some of them together in one place.

If you have any to add, any corrections to make, I'd welcome any input.

http://www.gnomedia.com/cw/westhost/

Enjoy!

wildjokerdesign
11-06-2003, 11:07 PM
Thank you jalal!

REC-WH
11-07-2003, 08:23 AM
There have been so many good tips and tricks posted to this forum, that I've tried to pull some of them together in one place.

If you have any to add, any corrections to make, I'd welcome any input.

http://www.gnomedia.com/cw/westhost/

Enjoy!
Super! Thanks! Also thanks to all the people who have taken the time to provide so much information & advice!

Charlie

Skullman
12-21-2003, 09:12 AM
First of all, congratulations for such a good resource page.

Regarding to this forum, I'm totally new at Webhost and the things that I have read over here seems to be very cool.

I want you to ask something about the site you've created: You say that's possible to customize the prompt of the shell, for that there are two files:

/.bashrc and /.profile

The second one is a link to the first one, so the one I need to change is the .bashrc one. But, when I try to edit it on Vi, it says that's a read only file, and I'm not able to chmod it, because the owner is 'root', not my user.

┐How is it possible to edit the file and make the changes you tell on the prompt and aliases?

Cheers!

jalal
12-21-2003, 12:31 PM
There are a couple of different layouts of the file/directory structure on Westhost V2, they seem to have been changing things as they go along.
On early sites, the file '~/.bashrc' is owned by root, but it is, in reality, just a symlink to the real file '/.bashrc' which should be owned by you and editable. So try:
$ vi /.bashrc
and see if that works.