PDA

View Full Version : complete newbie here - please have mercy and help!

Frisky
10-29-2003, 01:25 PM
In preparation for attempting some of the procmail edit's I've seen here, I need to do some tweaking of my SpamAssassin setting, apparantly. Like everyone else, I'm desperate because of 15-20 spams for each good message.

In any event, I need to know what to do if I want SA to NOT flag as spam any e-mails with a specific subject line. I'm using formmail to handle several forms on my site and the ideal solution would be to have it automatically not flag as spam anything that was processed by formmail.

I'll settle for anything that will recognize specific subject lines, though. After I've got that set up, hopefully someone will be able to help with the procmail edits too.

Remember, I'm a complete newbie who's desperate! Use nice little one syllable words of four letters or less, so I'll understand what you're trying to tell me to do.

Thanks!
Frisky

jalal
10-29-2003, 03:02 PM
Have you tried looking at Spamassassin's website?
They have an excellent set of documentation that will guide you quickly and easily to achieve what you desire.
Basically, to get you started, you want to add a new rule to your /etc/mail/spamassassin/local.cf file. The rule will check for the existence of a particular string in the subject line.

See more at: www.spamassassin.org

JDE
10-29-2003, 03:24 PM
I don't think spamassassin has a rule to detect non spam by default using the subject line, it is possible. You will have to enter a new rule, I'm not sure how this is done with WH since my account is in the malfunction mode but on another host I have the rules are in the file rules.cf. There are some good subject line rule examples for detecting HAM (non spam) at: http://www.darkmere.gen.nz/2002/0628.html

Possibly someone can tell you where and which file on WH you insert rules.
Johnie

Frisky
10-30-2003, 01:22 AM
Hi Jalal and JDE.