PDA

View Full Version : how to make .php process include files?



sross1
10-25-2003, 07:25 AM
Hello,
I am just learning to code in .php and I can not get my pages to process include files at westhost. If I use the same code, but change the extension to .shtml it runs fine ( so i know the path is correct).

Any help would be really appreciated.
thanks a lot.

jalal
10-26-2003, 08:38 AM
I'm not too sure what you are trying to do here.

But, if you want to use Server Side Includes in a web page, it will have to have an .shtml extension. If you want the page to be parsed by PHP, it will need to have a .php extension.

If you want to do both, you can't :)

(Well I think you can, but its tricky and its really not worth it because it'll slow things down too much).

wildjokerdesign
10-26-2003, 09:20 AM
sross1,

If you click on the link at the bottom of the page that leads to the authors of this board you might find the answer to your question. I was there and saw a post on thier board. I tried to find it again and could not so I can't tell you right where it is.

I do know that it is not done with SSI it is done through the php include function. I was trying to find it again because I was trying to give a board users an easy way to change a "banner" at the top of thier forum. I am new to php my self but I belive that you can use this code in your php page.


include("filename") In my case it does not seem to work because phpBB uses tpl files to control things and that is where I want to put the "include" . Hmm... I just had a thought... must go try it out.