PDA

View Full Version : Delete or disable domain@domain.com POP account?

maida
10-23-2003, 06:28 PM
Is there a way to disable or delete the domain@domain.com? It gets a lot of SPAM and we don't even use the POP account.

Thanks in advance for any help,

Maida

wildjokerdesign
10-23-2003, 07:15 PM
I belive that if you remove the catch-all from your account it would disable the domain@domain.com but not for sure. You could give it a try.

maida
10-23-2003, 09:11 PM
Nope, that doesn't do it. I always disable the catch all account. :(

It's a good thought, though.

Any ideas from the procmail experts? Not that I have ever done anything with procmail ever. :oops:

FZ
10-27-2003, 10:47 AM
maida,

You rang? ;) Actually, I'm not a Procmail expert. I just experiment a lot, especially with Procmail since I get way too much Spam. Anyway you can't really disable it, but what you could do is just delete all mail sent to this account unconditionally, and if you like, you could bounce it as well. I wouldn't recommend the second option unless you really need it though. Let me know if you want me to help you out with this.

maida
10-27-2003, 12:37 PM
If I could just delete the mail, that is good enough for me.

Now, be easy on me...I've never configured procmail before. :?

So, how do I start?

Maida

FZ
10-27-2003, 01:18 PM
Since you are not familiar with Procmail, we need to take a slightly longer route in testing this, because I don't want you to lose mail you need. The file you need it edit is the procmailrc file in your /etc folder. The first thing you should do is back up the existing version (either download it, or make a copy of it or rename the original). Then open it (not the backup, but the copy) with a text editor such as Notepad (assuming you are downloading the file via FTP). Add the following lines to the bottom of it (keep the spacing, etc. exactly as is):

:0:
* ^TO_domain@domain.com
/deletedmail