PDA

View Full Version : Compressing Graphics

szsv
10-14-2003, 12:11 PM
I'm new to Web Page design and publishing. I have tried to compress my digital photos using jpeg but each time I compress them, they will not display. I'm using both Photoshop 6.0 & PaintShop Pro 7.0 for the compression. I'm attempting to compress them from approx. 300k to 180k to below 10k. When try to compress them AT ALL, they will not display. I have NO IDEA what I am doing wrong. I'm using Web Editor 5.5 for my site development. Even using Dreamweaver 4.0 I get the same results.

Using the uncompressed photos causing long, long delays in loading the site: www.trainboxesplus.com. Any suggestions will be appreciated.

Thanks,
szsv

SJP
10-14-2003, 02:03 PM
Sounds like you're compressing them too much. Choose a higher quality. Also you can reduce the DPI. 75 is the average. There are other tricks and you'll just have to experiment to get a feel for them.

SJP

wildjokerdesign
10-14-2003, 04:17 PM
Ok I went to your site and checked out your images. I saved 0-scale.jpg to my computer and then opened it up in my Photoshop. You have width set at 1491 and height set to 1026. It looks like you have the resolution set fine at 72. Yet on the page you are displaying the image at 170X115.

Ok so in Photoshop go to image size and change the width and height to match what you want on the site i.e. 170 and 115 if you use contrain and simply enter 170 the height will be set to 117 a bit taller then what you are using on the page so you would have to either crop the image or change your layout if you needed the image to be that short. here is my version of it at only around 14kb
http://wildjokerdesign.com/0scale.jpg

I might also suggest that you use only numbers and letters when you name your imges no spaces or special charecters. If you do not it could cause you some problems with other things.

Let me know if you had trouble following any of that and i will try to clarify

szsv
10-14-2003, 08:42 PM