PDA

View Full Version : Procmail



Anonymous
09-03-2003, 07:04 PM
After migrating to WH2, it appears that mail is not going through my procmail setup. The .procmailrc file is located at:

/home/loginame/.procmailrc

Does the rc file need to be moved?

Thanks!

FZ
09-03-2003, 07:27 PM
The home directory for the root account (under 2.0) has actually changed to / and not /home/username (unless WestHost has fixed this issue). Try putting your rc file in /

Someone else was having trouble with that and putting it in the "correct" home directory did not work for them either, so please do let me know if it works for you.

smither
09-03-2003, 08:48 PM
Thanks, Design64 - moving .procmailrc seems to have fixed it.

ritupran
09-07-2003, 11:54 PM
did you guys have to make any changes to /etc/procmailrc in WH2.0?

smither
09-08-2003, 06:34 AM
ritupran,

Well, that is an interesting question - I did not realize there was a /etc/procmailrc. Before the migration, the rc file was in the login directory (/home/domain) and of course there was no global rc file.

On two of my migrated domains I created a link from /home/domain/procmailrc to /procmailrc, effectively putting the rc file in /. This seems to work. I don't know of any documentation on all this.

Thanks ...

ajparker
09-08-2003, 08:02 AM
From my experience on my home system, the procmailrc in etc parses those rules for EVERY incoming email address. I would thing the procmailrc in a home folder (even root..) would process rules for just that user. I could be wrong though. So for instance on my home machine if I wanted to filter based on the to address, those changes are in /etc/procmailrc

Avery

FZ
09-08-2003, 09:51 AM
And you'd be right, Avery. The Procmail in / is for the root account. If you create additional mail accounts (and give them FTP access too) they can have their own Procmail in their home directory - just like they have their own .spamassassin - or at least that is how it should work. I have not tested this specifically though.

jsdoyle
09-10-2003, 09:18 AM
I'm getting this intermittent error when sending email via a cgi script.

Where's the root@afte.org coming from? Do I need to do something to my paths for procmail to function properly? I've never received this error message before.

----- The following addresses had permanent fatal errors ----- <root@afte.org>
(reason: permission denied)

----- Transcript of session follows -----
procmail: Insufficient privileges
550 5.0.0 <root@afte.org>... Insufficient permission


Thanks,

Scott

FZ
09-10-2003, 02:50 PM
Sounds obvious, and you probably have, but have you set permissions on the CGI file correctly (CHMOD)? If you do a "non-procmail execute" on the script does it work as intended? Is your .procmailrc in / and CHMOD'd 644?