PDA

View Full Version : Setting up prior to DNS changeover



WVOz1970
02-26-2015, 06:25 AM
I'm setting up a site for a friend through my reseller account... and it's been way to long since I added a new name-based server. I'm still on the virtual servers, so 3.0 I think? Anyhow... once I create a new account, I know there was a way to access it prior to me moving the DNS nameserver. I'd like to FTP all the files up to the new site before we move his old one over. So how do I login with FTP prior to the DNS changeover? I can get there via servermanager and using FileManager, but I don't want to upload one file at a time.

Thanks!

wildjokerdesign
02-26-2015, 08:12 AM
exmaple.com.yourtempsite.com should be the temp link. Should be listed under Domains when you log into the Site Manager. I was always so tidy and got rid of these I had to set up a new test domain to look and remember where it was. I remembered it was generic and tied to the the domain name but like you could not remember. :)

wildjokerdesign
02-26-2015, 08:14 AM
Also you should be able to look up the actual server it is on via the Network Status page I think. That may be easier for you to use in your FTP program.

WVOz1970
02-26-2015, 01:35 PM
That got me digging... the tempsite.com did not work. But, I finally remembered, you can look up the IP of the shared server and enter it with your domain following. xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx/domain.com

Thanks!

It's been so long since I set up a new site in here, I'd forgotten what to do.

wildjokerdesign
02-27-2015, 09:17 AM
Glad you got it figured out. Good to know about the IP/domain.com ability.

kyleranderson
02-27-2015, 12:17 PM
Sorry for my delay on this thread.

IP/domain.com works great for shared IP address accounts in Site Manager.

You can also add two of the following addon domains, wait for propagation, and use them as needed. Just remember to replace SOMETHING with the URL you want to use.

SOMETHING.yourtempsite.com
SOMETHING.whsites.net

I hope this helps.

wildjokerdesign
02-27-2015, 03:37 PM
Thanks Kyler! I had not thought about the issue of prorogation on the addon domains and had completely forgotten that whsites.net used to be an option.