PDA

View Full Version : Subdomains show wrong subdomain's web site



GeneTrailer
02-07-2012, 01:25 PM
A couple of times, I've had new subdomains display the web site for a different subdomain.

At first, my "mail" subdomain was showing my "www" subdomain's content.... well, OK, I didn't have anything defined for my "mail" subdomain.
So I added forwarding to send my "mail" subdomain to the 2079 port for webmail. Worked great.
Now I needed to do drupal testing, so I created a "drupal" subdomain. But now my "mail" subdomain is showing the drupal home page.


I can see the DNS records for all the subdomains -- "A" type records to the same IP address. (Some were CNAME, but I tried changing to "A" in case that matters.)

I'm pretty sure this is a webserver configuration issue, but cPanel should be taking care of that. I'm surprised that I'm not finding reports of similar problems in any of the forums (so I'm probably using different terminology).

wildjokerdesign
02-07-2012, 04:58 PM
You are right normally cPanel takes care of all of this for you so you don't have to deal with it. I've never seen this happen on any of my cPanel accounts. Have you had WH support look into it yet?

wildjokerdesign
02-07-2012, 05:00 PM
BTW... On a cPanel account mail.example.com should leave you at a page that has the following message when you try to access it in a web browser.
"Template Error: The template file must be given"
If you are not getting that then I would have WH check it out. Also you shouldn't need to change the CNAME records to A records.

ncollings
02-26-2012, 01:03 AM
Hey GeneTrailer, sorry for not getting to this post earlier. Not sure exactly why it's doing that. I'd probably want to take a look at the zone file to see if there was something strange going on there. If it's still having that issue, feel free to open a ticket with us, or you can PM me your domain and I can see if there's anything strange going on with your domain's zone file.