PDA

View Full Version : What am I doing wrong?



SilverPony
07-25-2011, 04:45 PM
My current page was developed using a template provided free from West Host. I want to use a different template (http://templates.arcsin.se/the-hobbit-website-template/) I downloaded the files and redid the header using ArcSoft PhotoImperession for new wording and photo. Saved that header as a jpeg. (http://bjtraders.com/hobitt/header.jpg)
On my compter everything is fine and looks the way I want it-however, on line the header shows as a solid bar and nothing is as it should be (http://bjtraders.com/hobitt/index.html). -so what am I doing wrong? Could it be because my original "home page" is still active? (bjtraders.com). I really don't want to delte it until I am sure the new one will work.

This is just a test page-so the html is not cleaned up yet

wildjokerdesign
07-26-2011, 06:00 AM
The default.css file is expecting header.jpg and all the other images to be in a subdirectory called img. It is useing relative paths so for testing that would mean you need your images uploaded to /hobbit/img/. Actually I would leave the images and the css file in the /hobbit directory even after you start using this in your mains site. That way all you would need to change is the path to the default.css file in your html files.

SilverPony
07-26-2011, 08:01 AM
Thank-you so much Shawn-I was hoping it would be something simple. You just made my day!

wildjokerdesign
07-26-2011, 04:41 PM
Your welcome!