PDA

View Full Version : redirecting secondary domain to default directory



acates
04-08-2011, 02:23 PM
Hi,

Let me just say upfront that I am a beginner.
I bought a new domain name, a secondary domain, and want it to point to my primary site, for now.

I know there are a number of ways to do this, but how would you advise proceeding?

wildjokerdesign
04-08-2011, 03:07 PM
Need more information from you on what you have available to you. Is this a newer account with WestHost that uses cPanel? Did you purchase the domain name through WestHost?

acates
04-11-2011, 08:28 AM
My account is a few years old, cPanel doesn't sound familiar. I did not purchase the domain name through Westhost, but Domainsatcost.ca.
Thanks!

wildjokerdesign
04-11-2011, 08:42 AM
Well first of all you want to point the new domain to the WestHost name servers. That you do via whatever interface Domains at cost has to offer. Don't know their system but should be pretty straight forward. Once you have done that then you sign into Site Manager and go to Domain Settings > Domains. Click on the Add Domain button. Put the domain name in and then hit Finish.

acates
04-19-2011, 10:49 AM
Awesome, thanks. I found leaving it pointing to the default directory was the easiest thing to do.