PDA

View Full Version : WordPress install under WH4 - Softaculous ?



J_M
12-28-2010, 06:49 AM
I have a preferred WH4 account and within the cPanel I have Softaculous which lists WP 3.0.3 and Site Software which currently responds with "No cPAddons configuration found. Please contact your host and ask that they configure cPAddons."

The WH4 cPanel Video shows an installation of WP available within "Site Software" and no reference to Softaculous. Which should be used for a WP installation? and would either of these be helpful when updating WP to new versions, maintenance etc. or should I just manually install WP?

thanks

j

wildjokerdesign
12-28-2010, 07:07 AM
You should use Softaculous to install things on your WH 4.0 account. Site Software has never worked for me and I had actually thought that WH was going to get rid of the link for it in cPanel. I normally choose to intall PHP scripts like Wordpress manually myself but Softaculous does make it real easy to do and lets you set up the database and everything in one easy place. :) Upgrades depend on the program itself and how upgrades for it work. See this page for refrence: http://www.softaculous.com/docs/How_to_upgrade_installations

J_M
12-28-2010, 07:12 AM
> I had actually thought that WH was going to get rid of the link for it in cPanel.

and to have a video tutorial for it and not for Softaculous is a bit odd. I miss the documentation in WH3. WH4 still needs some cleanup.

thanks j

wildjokerdesign
12-29-2010, 07:20 AM
I agree with J on the documentation issue. There was something easy and elegant about the old documentation. :) Actually you might want to check out cPanels own documentation. http://docs.cpanel.net/twiki/bin/view/AllDocumentation/CpanelDocs/WebHome I've actually found the answers to some of my questions over there.