PDA

View Full Version : Managing own DNS/ Domain Name Registration, etc.

AP1
03-01-2010, 01:30 PM
I am largely self-taught as far as webdesign, and so there are gaps in my learning where I have not previously needed to know about a particular area. As I mentioned before, this whole mess the last 2 weeks has been a great learning experience, not only for the benefits of hindsight, but also because I spent a fair amount of time just reading through threads where others would post and troubleshoot various issues. I picked up a lot.

One of the ideas I picked up was that the hosting, domain registration, email, and DNS managment don't all need to be handled on the back end by the same company, and that in fact it's wise (the last two weeks being the case in point) if they are not. I'm looking to understand this better - what these elements are (specifically DNS - I know mostly what the rest are :), the relationship dynamic (or lack thereof) between them, and what my options are for handling them.

I would like the hosting to stay with WH. My domains are (abbreviated for simplicity) : uf.com, mghs.org, and twotree.com all on one account; dotg.com on another account and pjtc.com registered but not currently pointed anywhere (will be combining so all share one hosting account eventually - but not until all the dust is settled around here!). All domains are already registered through WH (excepting pjtc.com). During the mess, I saw someone mention an option to temporarily get email through google mail and I think that might be a viable option for me, once I understand the technical details behind why it would work, because for uf.com I don't need any hosting space, only email with that domain name. Dotg.com has a whole site, mghs.org has a whole site, pjtc.com will have a whole site, and twotreehollow.com won't need hosting either, just for the domain name to redirect to a Facebook public Page I am setting up.